Numerous electronic warfare variants based on the Mi-8T and Mi-8MT airframes were developed. They can be divided into three main categories: intelligence, electronic countermeasures (ECM) and airborne command posts. All these models were observed within the GSFG, most of them clearly identified, while others were poorly documented and some even totally unknown, probably never spotted elsewhere.

The Disrupters

Cochstedt The task of the electronic countermeasures helicopters was the protection of aircraft and helicopter formations on the front line by jamming acquisition and tracking radars (GCI) and antiaircraft defenses and command, control and communication centers (C³). Russian author Sergey Burdin gives us the following figures (we assume that they are valid for a helicopter like the Mi-8PPA): the efficiency of a single helicopter protecting a group of aircraft flying at an altitude between 500 and 1000 meters was near 100% at a range of 20-70 km from the enemy radars. The latter decreased by 50% at a range of 10-20 km. However, the ECM helicopters usually operated in groups of two or four. This corresponds to the number of helicopters on strength with the separate combat and control helicopter squadrons based in the GDR. The power of the ECM systems inevitably had adverse effects for its own users. The avionics of the jammer platform were affected, as was the range of the radio communications with the group of aircraft or helicopter to be protected, this being reduced to a radius of about 5 km.
The first Soviet helicopters modified to carry out electronic countermeasures missions appeared in the early 1960s. They were Mi-4MK "Hound" carrying a "Mayak-3" (Beacon) jamming system and several were based in the GDR (see > The Mi-4). The introduction of the Mi-8T into service naturally led to numerous modifications of the latter into specialized versions, including electronic warfare.

Mi-8SMV Mi-8SMV The first electronic countermeasures version seems to have been the Mi-8SMV in 1971. The "Hip-J" as it was designated by NATO carried a SPS-88 "Smal'ta-V" suite (hence the SMV suffix) intended to protect frontal aviation by jamming surface-to-air missile guidance systems and, in particular, those of the MIM-23 "Hawk." They were well known to the Western intelligence community despite their small number. The West German Border Guards indeed reported at regular intervals their presence along the Iron Curtain. The Mi-8SMV looked at first sight like an ordinary Mi-8T without weapon pylons. However, two rectangular boxes were mounted symmetrically on each side of the fuselage, behind the third porthole (the second on the right side, given the absence of the front window) and after the last one. A deflector was mounted behind the front antenna (reception) and in front of the rear antenna (emission). The fourth porthole on the right was obscured by a metal plate, as sometimes was the case for the last porthole on the left side (here, an articulated hatch was present). They could have been the location for flare launchers. Continuous emission radars were jammed by sending back their own signals, while pulse emission radars were subjected to direct interference. The countermeasures were alternately from the left and right sides of the helicopter in seven different directions and on ten frequencies. The system could run for four hours in a row. According to aeronautical author Piotr Butowski, the modernized Mi-8SMV-PG used in the 2008 conflict with Georgia helped reduce the range of the Buk-M1 and S-125 SAM system guidance radars by half (from 25-30 km to 10-15 km).

Mi-8SMV Mi-8SMV The "Smal'ta" complex (Smalt, a blue pigment) - which required the presence of only one operator aboard the Mi-8SMV - was first successfully tested on the ground (1) in real conditions in the Beqaa Valley (Lebanon) in 1972. Sergey Burdin said that the complex was placed on a high point overlooking the entrance to the valley in the demilitarized zone occupied by Syria. An Israeli Hawk battery protected the valley from frequent Syrian aircraft raids. Soviet operators of the "Smal'ta" system waited for a Hawk to be fired to start the jamming, which then disrupted the missile flight, the latter ending up on the ground or destroyed by its self-destruction system. In 1982, a few Mi-8SMV and Mi-8PPA were dispatched to Syria as a consequence of the Israeli invasion of Lebanon. They were assigned to the 100th Separate Electronic Warfare Helicopter Detachment (100.OVO REB) based in Mezzeh, southwest of Damascus (see > Link (2) / > Photos). According to the link mentioned above, the Syrian detachment - of which the composition probably varied over time - was repatriated in 1988 and the bulk of the equipment transferred to the 292.OVE REB. We will discuss this unit later since all the Mi-8SMV present in the GDR were assigned to it. Note however that several helicopters (apparently Mi-8PPB) seem to have been immediately placed in storage when they returned. Some were indeed photographed in Gorelovo, at ARZ 419 (Aviation Repair Plant 419) (> Link) still bearing their Syrian markings that do not seem to have been retouched; however, at least one was retouched with Soviet markings.

Mi-8PPA Mi-8PPA Another ECM version of the Mi-8 was born in 1973-74. It was designated Mi-8PP (Postanovschik Pomekh or jammer). "PP" was actually the compression of a designation that should also have included the initial of the jamming system called "Pole" (Field). In order for the helicopter to carry this suite, two large rectangular fairings with a large access hatch were mounted on the fuselage flanks, resulting in the disappearance of the third and fourth portholes. A priori, a series of six heat exchangers necessary for cooling the electronics was mounted under the fuselage behind the front landing gear leg. A priori, this model was equipped with a "Fasol'" (Bean) jammer like the Mi-8PPA described below. If that was the case, there should be no external difference between a PP and a PPA model. It is the next version, designated Mi-8PPA (Postanovschik Pomekh Azaliya) and known in the West as the "Hip-K," that in principle was observed in the GDR. This helicopter joined the Soviet Armed Forces in the early eighties (an anonymous crew member claims on the Internet to have flown in this version already in 1978). The Mi-8PPA was carrying an "Azaliya" ECM complex comprising an SPS-63 or SPS-66 jamming system. This equipment weighed 200 kg and was located in the same fuselage side fairings as with the Mi-8PP. This is the same complex that the Tu-16E Azaliya in Long-Range Aviation carried.

Mi-8PPA Mi-8PPA The external appendages of the SPS-5M2 "Fasol'" jamming system aboard the "Hip-K" emphasized its personality: besides the large lateral fairings and six heat exchangers under the nose, the presence of the Fasol' system dipole cruciform antennas gave the Mi-8PPA its unparalleled appearance of a helicopter equipped with "fans"! Mounting this set of antennas took the place of the last porthole. Also, the signal cartridge launcher usually mounted on the side of the left clamshell door was moved above the fifth porthole to the left. The Fasol' complex also was mounted aboard various aircraft such as the Tu-16E, Tu-22P, Yak-28PP or Su-24MP. Note that the DIV-1 Doppler case was not mounted under the tail boom of the "Hip-K" based in the GDR.

Mi-8PPA Mi-8PPA The Mi-8PPA had greater range thanks to the large fuel tanks carrying 1140 and 1030 liters (see > the first part of this chapter). A footboard was added under the side access door probably to prevent the crew from stepping on the heat exchanger located under the door when they boarded! Only one operator was responsible for the electronic warfare suite, bringing the total crew to four men. He was seated to the right behind the cockpit bulkhead and a second bulkhead with a central door separated him from the electronics compartment (photos showing the interior of a Mi-8PPA > 1 / 2). The Mi-8PPA were normally equipped with a deflector located above the rear part of the fuselage side fairings. It was intended to protect the equipment from the hot exhaust gas (> Photo of a Mi -8PPA with baffles - also present on the Mi-8MTPI photo bottom right. However, the helicopters observed during the 1980s and at present rarely were equipped with them and this criterion is probably not valid when trying to distinguish between a PP model and a PPA version. The "Azaliya" ECM system was designed for jamming ground acquisition radars in the centimeter and decimeter frequency bands using a transmitter with a power output ranging from 150 to 250 watts. The transmitter radiation was 360° in azimuth and 180° in elevation. The complex could be used continuously for up to ten hours.

Mi-8PPA Console de l'opérateur des systèmes ECM d'un Mi-8PPA. © DR

ECM operator console of a Mi-8PPA. © DR
Mi-8PPA Since no receiver was used to identify the threats, the system scanned the entire available frequency range in steps of 240 MHz. The jamming duration of each step varied anarchically. The "Fasol'" dealt with acquisition and guidance radars operating in the meter frequency bands. It was a 20-watt selective transmitter that jammed the identified enemy frequencies. The selected frequency range was scanned in steps of 20 MHz. During the 2008 conflict with Georgia, the Mi-8PPA would have reduced the effective range of the Georgian search radars from 300 to 30-50 km. The first Mi-8PPA observed in the GDR by Western intelligence sources were helicopters from the 292nd Separate Electronic Warfare Helicopter Squadron -(literally of radio-electronic combat - (OVE REB for Otdel'naya Vertoletnaya Eskadril'ya Radioelektronnoy Borb'y), based at Allstedt since 1981. This particular squadron was subordinated directly to the VVS rather than Army Aviation, so it took its orders from 16.VA Headquarters. In May 1985, the unit moved to Cochstedt where it remained stationed until its withdrawal from Germany in July 1992. In addition, a few Mi-8PPA were on strength with three of the five separate combat and control helicopter squadrons (OVE BU) assigned to the five ground armies (3). The Mi-8PPA and the Mi-8SMV (respectively seven and eight helicopter + one Mi-8T) of the 292.OVE REB were listed by European aircraft spotters at Cochstedt after the fall of the Berlin Wall. Thus, the recent composition of the squadron seemed well known, but it was not reflected in the 1985 USMLM annual history.

Mi-8MTPI Mi-8MTPI In that 1985 history, we could indeed see this photo on the left that apparently shows a Mi-8PPA. But the description stated that it was a "Hip-H" airframe - hence a Mi-8MT - while, as we have seen, the "Hip-K" was based on a Mi-8T airframe. Plus, a closer look at the image makes it possible to partially distinguish a boomerang-shaped antenna in front of the "Fasol'" system antenna. We also managed to find a another picture of a similar helicopter at Cochstedt (above, right). Besides the boomerang antenna, we also can distinguish a triangular fairing behind it, instead of the fifth porthole. These helicopters that seem to have been assigned to the 292.OVE REB were Mi-8MTPI - P for Postanovschik Pomekh and I for Ikebana (school of Japanese floral art) - sometimes called Mi-8PPI at unit level. This variant was very similar externally to the Mi-8PPA with large fuselage side fairings, "Fasol'" system antennas and heat exchangers. But, besides the external characteristics of the Mi-8MT airframe (see > the third part of this chapter), the boomerang antennas of the "Ikebana" complex mounted in front of those of the "Fasol'" jammer betrayed it for sure. The "Ikebana" suite was not only an electronic countermeasures system; it also could be used for ELINT missions. The Mi-8MTPI, therefore, was a multimission helicopter likely requiring an additional operator. This version was equipped with large fuel tanks like the Mi-8PPA. The Mi-8MTPI seem to have remained in the GDR only for a few months before being repatriated shortly before the events of the late eighties.
While some of the Mi-8 described above were withdrawn from service and dismantled, others were overhauled and still are active alongside many more-recent variants. As a result, the Mi-8SMV became the Mi-8SMV-PG after mounting a new SPS-88PG ECM suite named "Smal'ta-PG."

notes

(1) Read the footnote in the fifth part of the article "Seen from the West: the Hawk Batteries" and the text related to it.
(2) The pictures illustrating this link (taken in Gorelovo) seem to show a Mi-8PPB equipped with a "Bizon" suite. Picture of a complete model > Here.
(3) That was the case in early 1991. They were the following units:
     - 6.OVE BU, Hellerau, 1.GvTA, 2 helicopters
     - 9.OVE BU, Neuruppin, 2.GvTA, 4 helicopters
     - 296.OVE BU, Mahlwinkel, 3.OA, 2 helicopters


The Mi-8  < Part 1 < Part 2 < Part 3 > Part 5 > Part 6 > Part 7

previous Plan du site - Sitemap next

THIS PAGE IN ENGLISH HERE

De nombreuses variantes de guerre électronique ayant pour base la cellule du Mi-8T, puis celle du Mi-8MT, ont été développées. Ces versions sont classables en trois catégories principales : renseignement, contre-mesures électroniques et poste de commandement volant. Autant de modèles qui ont été observés au sein du GFSA, la plupart clairement identifiés, d'autres restés peu documentés et certains totalement inconnus, sans doute jamais repérés ailleurs.

Les perturbateurs

Cochstedt Les hélicoptères de contre-mesures électroniques ont pour mission la protection des formations d'avions et d'hélicoptères opérant sur la ligne de front en brouillant les radars de détection et d'interception (GCI), les systèmes de défense sol-air, et les centres de commandement, de contrôle et de communication (C³). L'auteur Russe Sergey Bourdine nous donne les chiffres suivants (nous assumons que ces derniers sont valables pour une machine comme le Mi-8PPA) : l'efficacité d'un seul hélicoptère protégeant un groupe d'appareils volant à une altitude située entre 500 et 1000 mètres approchait 100% à une distance de 20 à 70 km des radars ennemis. Cette dernière diminuait de 50% à une distance de 10 à 20 km. Mais c'est par groupe de deux ou de quatre que les hélicoptères de CME opéraient généralement. Cela correspond d'ailleurs au nombre de machines que l'on retrouvait au sein des escadrons autonomes d'hélicoptères de combat et de contrôle basés en RDA. Le puissance des systèmes de CME avait forcément des effets adverses pour ses propres utilisateurs. L'avionique du vecteur s'en trouvait affectée, de même que les communications avec le groupe d'appareils à protéger, celles-ci étant réduites à un rayon d'environ 5 km. Lors des exercices en RDA, les plateformes de CME utilisaient d'ailleurs des fréquences de communication inhabituelles.
C'est au début des années soixante que les premiers hélicoptères soviétiques transformés afin de mener à bien des missions de contre-mesures électroniques firent leur apparition. Il s'agissait de Mi-4MK "Hound" qui emportaient une suite électronique baptisée "Mayak-3" (Balise). Plusieurs exemplaires de ces appareils ont été basés en RDA (voir > Les Mi-4). Bien entendu, l'entrée en service du Mi-8T allait voir ce dernier transformé en diverses plateformes spécialisées, dont des appareils de guerre électronique.

Mi-8SMV Mi-8SMV La première variante de contre-mesures électroniques semble avoir été le Mi-8SMV en 1971. Désigné "Hip-J" par l'OTAN (1), il emportait une suite SPS-88 "Smal'ta-V" (d'où la terminaison SMV) destinée à protéger l'aviation frontale en brouillant les systèmes de guidage des missiles sol-air et en particulier ceux du MIM-23 "Hawk." Peu nombreux, ces appareils étaient néanmoins bien connus des services de renseignement occidentaux grâce aux rapports des gardes frontières ouest-allemands qui signalaient à intervalles réguliers leur présence en maraude le long du rideau de fer. Le Mi-8SMV avait l'apparence d'un Mi-8T ordinaire dépourvu de ses pylônes d'armement. Cependant deux boîtiers rectangulaires étaient montés symétriquement de chaque côté des flancs du fuselage, derrière le troisième hublot (le second à droite, vu l'absence du hublot avant) et après le dernier. Un déflecteur était monté derrière l'antenne avant (réception) et devant l'antenne arrière (émission). Le quatrième hublot à droite était occulté par une plaque métallique, de même que parfois le dernier à gauche; dans ce dernier cas une trappe articulée était présente. Il s'agissait peut-être de logements pour des lance-leurres. La perturbation des radars à émission continue se faisait en renvoyant leurs propres signaux, tandis que les radars à émission pulsée étaient soumis à un brouillage direct. Les contre-mesures se faisaient alternativement depuis le côté gauche et le côté droit de l'hélicoptère selon sept directions différentes et sur dix fréquences. Le système pouvait fonctionner pendant quatre heures d'affilée. Selon l'auteur aéronautique Piotr Butowski, les Mi-8SMV-PG modernisés utilisés lors du conflit de 2008 avec la Géorgie, permirent de réduire la portée des systèmes de guidage des missiles sol-air Bouk-M1 et S-125 de moitié (de 25-30 km à 10-15 km).

Mi-8SMV Mi-8SMV Le complexe "Smal'ta" (Smalt, un pigment bleu) - qui ne demandait la présence que d'un seul opérateur à bord du Mi-8SMV - fut testé d'abord au sol (2) en conditions réelles et avec succès dans la vallée de la Beqaa au Liban en 1972. Sergey Bourdine précise que le complexe fut placé sur un terrain surélevé surplombant l'entrée de la vallée, dans la zone démilitarisée occupée par la Syrie. Une batterie Hawk israélienne protégeait la vallée contre les incursions fréquentes d'appareils syriens. Les opérateurs soviétiques du système "Smal'ta" attendaient qu'un Hawk soit tiré pour lancer le brouillage qui perturbait alors la course du missile qui finissait au sol ou détruit par son système d'auto-destruction. En 1982, faisant suite à l'invasion du Liban par les troupes israéliennes, quelques Mi-8SMV ainsi que des Mi-8PPA furent détachés en Syrie où ils formaient le 100è Détachement autonome d'hélicoptères de guerre électronique (100.OVO REB) basé à Mezzeh, au sud-ouest de Damas (voir > Lien (3) / > Photos). Si l'on en croit le lien mentionné précédemment, le détachement syrien - dont la dotation a certainement varié au fil du temps - fut rapatrié en 1988 et l'essentiel du matériel transféré au 292.OVE REB dont nous reparlerons, puisqu'il s'agissait de l'unité où étaient affectés tous les Mi-8SMV présents en RDA. On notera toutefois que plusieurs machines (apparemment des Mi-8PPB) semblent avoir été stockées directement à leur retour. Certaines ont en effet été photographiées à Gorelovo, au siège du centre de révision (ARZ) n°419 (> Lien) toujours décorées de leurs marquages syriens qui ne semblaient pas avoir été retouchés - cependant, au moins un appareil avait été remis aux couleurs soviétiques.

Mi-8PPA Mi-8PPA Une autre variante de combat électronique vit le jour en 1973-74. Il s'agissait du Mi-8PP (Postanovschik-Pomekh ou Brouilleur). "PP" était en fait la compression d'une désignation qui aurait dû inclure l'initiale du système de brouillage baptisé "Pole" (Champ). Afin de pouvoir embarquer cette suite, deux grands carénages rectangulaire dotés d'une importante trappe de maintenance étaient montés sur les flancs du fuselage, ce qui entraînait la disparition des troisièmes et quatrièmes hublots. A priori, une série de six échangeurs thermiques destinés à refroidir l'électronique, était fixée sous le fuselage, derrière la jambe de train avant. Toujours à priori, ce modèle jouissait d'un brouilleur "Fasol'" comme le Mi-8PPA décris ci-dessous. Si tel fut bien le cas, il ne devait pas y avoir de différence extérieure entre un modèle PP et un modèle PPA. C'est la version suivante, appelée Mi-8PPA (Postanovschik Pomekh Azaliya) et connue à l'ouest sous le nom de code "Hip-K" qui, en principe, a été observée en RDA. Entré en service au début des années quatre-vingt (un membre d'équipage anonyme prétend sur Internet avoir volé sur cette version dès 1978), le Mi-8PPA emportait un complexe de contre-mesures "Azaliya" qui consistait en un système de brouillage SPS-63 ou SPS-66. Ces équipements d'un poids de 200 kg prenaient place dans les mêmes carénages latéraux que ceux du Mi-8PP. C'est le même complexe qui équipait déjà les Tu-16E Azaliya de l'Aviation à long rayon d'action.

Mi-8PPA Mi-8PPA Les appendices externes du système de brouillage SPS-5M2 "Fasol'" (haricot vert) qui équipait également le "Hip-K," lui donnaient toute sa personnalité : outre les gros renflements latéraux et six échangeurs thermiques en position ventrale, la présence des antennes dipoles cruciformes du Fasol' conférait au Mi-8PPA son inégalable apparence d'hélicoptère équipé de "ventilateurs" ! Le montage de cet ensemble d'antennes avait entraîné la suppression du dernier hublot. D'autre part, les lances-fusées de signalement habituellement montés sur le flanc de la porte de soute en demi-coquille gauche avaient été déplacés au-dessus du cinquième hublot à gauche. On retrouvait par ailleurs le complexe "Fasol'" à bord de divers types d'appareils tels que les Tu-16E, Tu-22P, Yak-28PP ou Su-24MP. On remarquera que le boîtier doppler DIV-1 n'était pas monté sous la poutre de queue des "Hip-K" stationnés en RDA.

Mi-8PPA Mi-8PPA Les Mi-8PPA bénéficiaient d'une autonomie supérieure grâce aux réservoirs de carburant de grande capacité de 1140 et 1030 litres (voir > la première partie de ce chapitre). Un marche-pied avait été ajouté sous la porte d'accès latérale à l'avant gauche, sans doute afin d'éviter que l'équipage ne prenne appui sur l'échangeur thermique situé sous la porte quand il montait à bord ! Un seul opérateur était responsable de l'ensemble de guerre électronique, portant le total de l'équipage à quatre hommes. Il était assis à droite, derrière la cloison du poste de pilotage et une seconde cloison dotée d'une porte centrale le séparait du compartiment électronique (photos de l'intérieur d'un Mi-8PPA > 1 / 2). Les Mi-8PPA étaient normalement équipés d'un déflecteur situé au-dessus de la partie postérieure des carénages latéraux. Il s'agissait de protéger le matériel contre les gaz chauds d'échappement (> Photo d'un Mi-8PPA avec déflecteurs - également présent sur la photo du Mi-8MTPI en bas à droite). Mais force est de constater qu'en général, les hélicoptères observés au cours des années 80 et encore actuellement, en sont rarement équipés et ce critère n'est sans doute pas valable pour distinguer un modèle PP d'un modèle PPA. Le système de contre-mesures "Azalée" visait à perturber les radars de détection terrestres dans les bandes de fréquences centimétriques et décimétriques à l'aide d'un émetteur d'une puissance variant de 150 à 250 watts. Le rayonnement de ce dernier était de 360° en azimuth et 180° en élévation. L'utilisation du complexe était possible pendant dix heures en continu.

Mi-8PPA Console de l'opérateur des systèmes ECM d'un Mi-8PPA. © DR

ECM operator console of a Mi-8PPA. © DR
Mi-8PPA Aucun récepteur n'étant utilisé pour identifier les menaces, le système balayait toutes la gamme de fréquences disponible par pas de 240 MHz et la durée de brouillage de chaque pas variait de manière anarchique. Le "Fasol'" s'en prenait quant à lui aux radars d'acquisition et de guidage travaillant dans les bandes de fréquences métriques. Il s'agissait d'un émetteur sélectif de 20 watts qui brouillait les fréquences ennemies identifiées. Le balayage de la gamme de fréquences sélectionnée se faisait par pas de 20 MHz. Lors du conflit avec la Géorgie en 2008, les Mi-8PPA auraient affecté les radars de recherche géorgiens en faisant passer leur portée effective de 300 à 30-50 km. Les premières observations occidentales de Mi-8PPA en RDA concernaient les hélicoptères du 292è Escadron autonome d'hélicoptères de guerre électronique - littéralement de combat radio-électronique - (OVE REB pour Otdel'naya Vertoletnaya Eskadril'ya Radioelektronnoy Borb'y) basés à Allstedt depuis 1981. Cet escadron particulier était subordonné aux VVS plutôt qu'à l'Aviation de l'armée et il prenait ses ordres auprès du QG de la 16.VA. En mai 1985, l'unité fit mouvement à Cochstedt où elle resta stationnée jusqu'à son retrait en juillet 1992. En outre, quelques Mi-8PPA faisaient partie des effectifs de trois des cinq escadrons autonomes d'hélicoptères de combat et de contrôle (OVE BU) affectés aux cinq armées terrestres (4). Les Mi-8SMV et les Mi-8PPA opéraient de concert lors d'exercices d'opérations ou d'assaut aériens. Un "Hip-J" faisant office de leader communiquait à un "Hip-K" les périodes pendant lesquelles il fallait brouiller les fréquences, selon un planning précis. La distance entre les hélicoptères et la zone d'opérations variait de 50 à 70 km et l'altitude ne dépassait pas 3000 mètres. Lors de missions de support visant à couvrir les phases de décollage et d'atterrissage des avions, la distance maximale était de 30 km à une altitude variant entre 900 et 1200 mètres. Parfois, les Mi-8PPA opéraient en solo.

Mi-8MTPI Mi-8MTPI C'est à Cochstedt que les Mi-8PPA et les Mi-8SMV (respectivement sept et huit exemplaires + un Mi-8T) du 292.OVE REB purent être répertoriés par les spotters européens après la chute du mur. Ainsi, la dotation récente de l'escadron semblait bien connue, mais c'était sans compter sur le rapport annuel pour 1985 de la USMLM. On pouvait en effet y voir la photo ci-contre à gauche, qui illustre en apparence un Mi-8PPA. Mais les indications concernant ce cliché mentionnaient qu'il s'agissait d'une cellule de "Hip-H" - donc de Mi-8MT - alors que comme nous l'avons vu, les "Hip-K" étaient basés sur des cellules de Mi-8T. D'autre part, un examen plus approfondi de l'image permettait de distinguer en partie une antenne en forme de boomerang devant les antennes du système "Fasol'." Nous sommes par ailleurs parvenus à dénicher une seconde photo d'un appareil identique à Cochstedt (ci-dessus, à droite). Outre l'antenne boomerang, on distingue également un carénage triangulaire derrière celle-ci, en lieu et place du cinquième hublot. Ces hélicoptères qui semblent bien avoir été affectés au 292.OVE REB étaient des Mi-8MTPI - P pour Postanovschik-Pomekh et I pour Ikebana (école d'art floral japonaise) - parfois appelés Mi-8PPI en unité. Cette variante était très similaire extérieurement au Mi-8PPA avec ses carénages latéraux, les antennes du système "Fasol'" et les échangeurs thermiques. Mais, outre les caractéristiques externes de la cellule Mi-8MT (voir > la troisième partie de ce chapitre), ce sont les antennes en forme de boomerang du complexe "Ikebana" montées devant celles du brouilleur "Fasol'" qui la trahissaient à coup sûr. Cependant, la suite "Ikebana" n'était pas qu'un appareillage de contre-mesures électroniques; il pouvait également être utilisé dans le cadre de missions de renseignement ELINT, faisant de fait du Mi-8MTPI une machine multi missions nécessitant vraisemblablement un opérateur supplémentaire. Tout comme le Mi-8PPA, cette version était équipée de grands réservoirs de carburant. Les Mi-8MTPI ne semblent être restés en Allemagne occidentale que quelques mois avant d'être rapatriés peu avant les évènements de la fin des années quatre-vingt.
Si certaines des machines décrites ci-dessus ont été retirées du service et démantelées, d'autres ont, au contraire, été révisées et sont toujours actives aux côtés de nombreuses variantes plus récentes. Ainsi, les Mi-8SMV sont devenus des Mi-8SMV-PG suite à l'adoption d'une nouvelle suite ECM SPS-88PG baptisée "Smal'ta-PG."

notes

(1) L'OTAN identifiait en fait deux versions de Mi-8SMV le "Hip-J1" et le "Hip-J2." Le "Hip-J1" correspond aux photos qui illustrent cet article.
     Cette version avait des déflecteurs de forme rectangulaire devant ou derrière les carénages d'antennes carrés. Sur la version J2, ces derniers avaient
     une forme semi-cylindrique. Toutefois, il n'existe aucune photo connue illustrant cette variante ayant servi dans les rangs du GFSA.
     Tout au plus peut-on spéculer que la photo centrale visible sur cette > page représente peut-être un "Hip-J2."
(2) Lire le renvoi bas de page et le texte qui s'y rapporte dans la cinquième partie de l'article Vu de l'Ouest : les batteries Hawk.
(3) Les photos qui illustrent ce lien (prisent à Gorelovo) semblent montrer un Mi-8PPB équipé avec une suite "Bizon."
     Photo d'un appareil complet > Ici.
(4) C'était du moins la situation début 1991. Il s'agissait des unités suivantes :
     - 6.OVE BU, Hellerau, 1.GvTA, 2 helicoptères
     - 9.OVE BU, Neuruppin, 2.GvTA, 4 helicoptères
     - 296.OVE BU, Mahlwinkel, 3.OA, 2 helicoptères


Les Mi-8  < Part 1 < Part 2 < Part 3 > Part 5 > Part 6 > Part 7

previous Plan du site - Sitemap next