Mi-24V Mi-24V The variety of weapons that the Mi-24V could carry was more extensive. In addition to traditional UB-32A and the new B-8V20A (20 S-8 80mm rockets) rocket pods (1), 9M114 missiles and various bombs, the "Hind-E" could mount GUV containers (9-A-669 Universal Container for Helicopters) that could be configured in two versions. The GUV-8700 received a YaKB-12,7 (9-A-624) 12,7mm four-barrel gun and two 7,62mm GShG-7,62 (9-A-622) machine guns, while the GUV-1 was configured with a 30mm AGS-17 Plamya (Flame) automatic grenade launcher. The panoply also included UPK-23-250 cannon pods equipped with 23mm twin-barrel GSh-23L guns supplied with 250 rounds of ammunition and KMGU-2 sub-munitions dispensers for anti-tank and anti-personnel mines. It was finally possible to fire 122mm S-13 (B-13L containers for five rockets) or larger caliber 240mm S-24B unguided rockets. Four PTB-450 auxiliary fuel tanks could be accomodated on the wing pylons for long ferry flights.

Combat Ces photos ont été prises par la caméra de tir S-13 d'un Mi-24 du premier escadron du 178.OBVP de Stendal lors d'un combat aérien en septembre 1988. © V.Paevskiy.

These pictures were taken by the S-13 strike camera of a Mi-24 from the first squadron of the 178.OBVP from Stendal during an air-to-air combat in September 1988. © V.Paevskiy.
Air-to-air missiles were tested on the Mi-24 during the 1970s (Strela) and the late 1980s (R-60 and R-73) (2). Some Russian publications report that a few GFSG "Hind" squadrons were equipped with R-60 missiles, unfortunately without giving further details and testimonials seem to be absent as if the subject was taboo. The fact is that the use of the Mi-24 based in the GDR for air-to-air interceptions cannot be questioned. On July 19, 1988 - one year after the landing of Mathias Rust on Red Square with a Cessna 172 on May 28, 1987 - USMLM tour officers observed a Mi-24K and a Mi-24V from Stendal performing air-to-air combat training. However, back in 1986, a USMLM report mentioned this: "... HIND helicopters were observed in combined arms attacks, working closely with fixed wing aircraft, during night flare and adverse weather training, and in possible air-to-air intercept scenarios."

In fact, the Mi-24s were successors to the Mi-8 in the role of interceptor of targets flying at low altitude and slow speed. It would appear that an alert system was set up after the 1961 Berlin crisis. The Mi-4 and the Mi-8 were ready to take off from their respective home bases or from outposts such as the PVO radar sites near the inter-German border (3). Very logically, the better armed and faster Mi-24 took over from 1976 on, a date that corresponds to the arrival of the 'D' version in the GDR. The potential targets of the Mi-24 essentially fell into three categories. There were spy balloons that normally flew at high altitude. However, any balloon seemed to be suspect: according to the testimony of a staff member assigned to a radar site of the 46.ORTB (Separate Radar Battalion), the pilots were awaiting with some excitement the passing of weather balloons, which were targets that could be shot down.

Map Mi-24D There were also West German private airplanes and sailplanes that often crossed the border by mistake, as one can imagine. Being civilian aircraft, they could not be shot down and, because of its higher speed, it was not appropriate to use a figthter aircraft to force them to land. The use of helicopters instead could conserve the potential of the fighter aircraft and reduce the workload on their crews, while providing helicopter pilots the opportunity to train in air combat. The goal was to force the intruder to land on GDR soil. Finally, there were NATO helicopters patrolling along or too close - within five kilometers - to the border. NATO regularly tested the effectiveness of the crews on alert in this way. A Mi-24 pilot remembers: "I had the opportunity to be posted on alert at Mahlwinkel, Köthen and at the Quedlinburg radar site more than once. The West Germans [NATO] knew our call-signs and our level of qualification and they checked regularly the capabilities of the alert section. Simply put, around 1984-1985 on a May 9, when our call-sign had been changed as it was regularly, our alert crew took off to meet a target three times and I flew about 7 hours on this sacred day (4)."

Radars Geba The task to detect and intercept the low- and slow-flying targets was based on the shoulders of the East German border guard troops, of the GSFG and the NVA radar sites and Mi-24s of the Soviet and East German aviation forces (5). Landing pads for the helicotpers and buildings for their crews were built next to the PVO radar sites located on the front line, which had the capability to conduct Ground Control Intercept (GCI) tasks. Mi-24 crews were only at 10 or 20 meters from their machine and the time required to launch was significantly less than that of a fighter. In addition, these outposts were located at only 6-15 kilometers from the German border, which further reduced the reaction time.
When a Mi-24 intercepted a border violator, it formed up with it and "wiggled" its nose gun. That was generally enough to convince the western pilot to land at the closest suitable place. But when that was not enough, the Mi-24 pilot opened fire in the direction the violator was headed. Once the intruder was on the ground, the Mi-24 landed nearby and the flight engineer guarded the violator until arrival of the "appropriate authorities." Then, the helicopter returned to base.

MS893 Le 3 août 1984, le Socata MS893A Commodore 180 D-EDKK fut intercepté à l'intérieur de l'espace aérien est-allemand par le Mi-24 du Capitiane Jabov et contraint de se poser en RDA. L'équipage affecté à une unité stationnée à Nohra, fut récompensé avec des montres commémoratives. © Archives A.Sviridenko.

Socata MS893A Commodore 180 D-EDKK was interecepted inside the East German airspace on August 3, 1984 by the Mi-24 of Captain Zhabov and forced to land on the GDR soil. The crew, from a unit based at Nohra, was rewarded with engraved watches. © A.Sviridenko archives.
Mi-24V Take, for example, the Mi-24 squadrons from Nohra that intercepted three civilian aircraft in 1984 and 1985. The local squadrons would have taken the alert role in 1980, one year after the transfer of the 336.OBVP from Berdyansk to Nohra. In addition to the local alert section at Nohra, the squadrons were posting regularly one Mi-24 on the radar sites at Geba and Wachstedt. Let's point out that the forces on alert were prepared to intercept not only aerial, but ground-based targets as well. At Nohra, four crews were on alert to "work" ground-based targets; these helicopters stood alert with mounted and loaded unguided rocket pods (the alert role against ground-based targets was rescinded on December 1, 1989). In June 1988 an additional crew was placed on alert for the interception of free automatic aerostats that were probably considered as potential spy balloons. According to the testimony of a former GSFG pilot, the Soviets also were testing NATO readiness by sometimes sending a pair of Mi-24s to the border. After an approach at full power, the helicopters were reconnoitering beyond the border and continued to fly about two kilometers along the wrong side of it before breaking away. However, on June 16, 1983, an encounter between the Mi-24D bort number 07 (probably from the 345.OVE OP that was also based at Nohra) deployed at the Wachstedt radar site and a Bell AH-1G Huey Cobra in the Witzenhausen/Neu Eichenberg region, was to end tragically.

Newspaper Crash The pilot of the Mi-24 would have behaved aggressively against a West German border guards (Bundesgrenzschutz) helicopter patrolling along the border. After the latter reported the incident, a Huey Cobra from the 4th Squadron, 11th Armoured Cavalry Regiment (4/11 ACR) based in Sickels (Fulda Army Airfield) was sent to the rescue. There followed a series of bold maneuvers on both sides that led ultimately to the Mi-24 crash: the main rotor of the latter finally hit and cut the tail boom (6) with the ultimate consequences that can be imagined. The Mi-24 crashed one hundred meters from the border and was completely destroyed by fire, leaving no chance for the three crew members. The regimental commander, Colonel I.V. Vladimirovich would have visited the scene soon after the tragedy with a Mi-8.
The next day, the bodies of the crew consisting of Captain Yu.D. Karpov (pilot), A.N. Sachkov (WSO) and L.N. Semakhin (flight engineer) were recovered from the wreckage, while the latter was evacuated by soldiers of the NVA (See also this > LINK) (7). To crown it all, Nohra airbase also lost accidentally a Mi-8TV with all hands on April 29, 1989 in a collision with a growing tree atop a hill in the Ehrenburg area, during a border patrol mission.

Cessna In summary, the monthly schedule of a Mi-24 pilot during the 1980s was often as follows:
- One week of training routine
- One week living in a tent deployed with the regiment on a reserve airfield
- One week on alert at the home base or at another site (such as PVO radar sites) from
  dawn to dusk
- One week on alert at the home base round the clock

Mi-24V Standing alert at the home base unfolded as follows (testimony of a pilot assigned to the 337.OBVP at Mahlwinkel in 1984 - that aerodrome was located at 42 km or 13 minutes flight time from the border): one crew was ready to launch within ten minutes, while a second crew was available within thirty minutes. When the first crew took off, the second crew went to a higher alert level, ready in turn to launch within ten minutes. There were two to three alert launches a week.

In order to be comprehensive, it should also be mentioned that the Mi-24s were likely to chase the Western military liaison missions when the opportunity presented itself. Group Captain Richard Bates, Deputy Chief of BRIXMIS in 1981, testifies: "Soviet helicopter crews were adept in locating mission cars and often ready to give chase, sometimes descending so alarmingly as to threaten to collide with the tour car."

DG-64 Mi-24V Le Bort nomer 23 était un Mi-24V qui fut photographié en août 1982 alors qu'il couvrait un exercice de franchissement de cours d'eau près de Sandau. Il était équipé d'un crochet DG-64 pour le transport de charges sous élingues. Celui-ci était situé au centre du cadre en forme de V que l'on peut distinguer sous le fuselage. © USMLM.

Bort number 23 was a Mi-24V that was photographed in August 1982 in conjunction with a river crossing exercise near Sandau. It was equipped with a DG-64 ventral hook to carry loads under sling. The hook was situated in the center of the v-shaped frame visible under the fuselage. © USMLM.
The "Hind" could be fitted with a removable DG-64 hook fixed under the fuselage to carry loads under slings. According to statements by a former pilot, many Mi-24D and the first series of the Mi-24V were fitted with this hook. The technical specifications for the Mi-24P also mentioned the parameters for the use of the hook. According to another witness, each squadron (12 to 18 aircraft) should have included a flight or Zveno (four helicopters), whose crews were trained for this type of work. Four to six training flights were conducted in good weather each year. This option, however, was not widespread. The vertical take-off of a heavily loaded Mi-24 was indeed problematic and, in addition, the transport under sling caused strong vibrations of the nose in the front seat. In an emergency, the load carried could be jettisoned by pressing a button located on the control stick of the collective pitch from the front and the rear seat. The flight engineer had also his own emergency jettison command. The hook was electrically controlled and it was folded in horizontal position under the fuselage when not in use. The maximum load the Mi-24V and -P could carry was 2400kg. Let's also note that the Mi-24 were likely to carry the "Lyunet" (lunette) smoke system that was composed of external pods with smoke cartridges.

Mahlwinkel The advent of the Mi-24V went hand in hand with the arrival of a new regiment in 1979 within the GSFG: the 337.OBVP at Mahlwinkel. Other units abandoned their "Hind-D" in favor of the "Hind-E": the 225.OBVP at Brandis (only partially, 1980), the 172.OBVP at Parchim (1980), the 336.OBVP at Nohra and the 178.OBVP at Stendal. Moreover, new units were created in the GDR during the 1980s: the 439.OVP BU at Parchim (Mi-24V - 1987), the 440.OVP BU at Stendal (Mi-24D/V - 1987), the 485.OVP BU at Brandis (Mi-24V - 1989), the 486.OVP BU at Altes Lager (Mi-24D/V - 1989) and the 487.OVP BU at Gross Dölln (Mi-24V - 1989 / unit under creation composed of only two squadrons transferred to Werneuchen in 1991). We do not know if at the time of their arrival, the 486 and the 440.OVP BU were equipped solely with 'D' models or with a mix of 'D' and 'V' models. The question also remains open for the 225.OBVP. It should be noted that the OVP BU-type units were created on-site by the amalgamation of the many units of the OVE OP type that, along with having Mi-2s and Mi-8s, were introducing Mi-24s (read > The Armeyskaya Aviatsiya in Germany). Thus, the 440.OVP BU began to be formed from March 1, 1987 with helicopters from squadrons that were based at Köthen, Mahlwinkel and Neuruppin. The process ended on March 25 when the regiment received its Combat Banner.

Pushka

Mi-24P Le mécanicien navigant d'un Mi-24P se détend avant de faire ses adieux à Mahlwinkel le 16 mai 1994. © JL Debroux.

The flight engineer of a Mi-24P takes a rest before bidding farewell to Mahlwinkel on 16 May 1994. © JL Debroux.
Mi-24P It is on the occasion of the exercise "Druzhba 82" (Friendship 1982) that the Western observers discovered what appeared to be a Mi-24V "Hind-E" armed with a 23mm twin-barrel gun (sic) mounted on the front-right side of the fuselage. It was in fact a new model, the Mi-24P (P for Pushechnyy - cannon-armed), which received the NATO code "Hind-F." This new "Hind" version basically was a Mi-24V without a nose turret and armed instead with a Gryazev/Shipunov GSh-30K (9-A-623K) rapid-firing twin-barrel cannon 2 meters, 40 centimeters long. This 30mm pushka (cannon) approved in 1976 was also fitted to the Su-25 in its shorter GSh-30 version 1 meter, 50 centimeter long. It was mounted in a fixed position on the right side of the Mi-24P (the pilot had to point the nose of the helicopter to aim at the target) and its long tubes were tipped with flame attenuators in order not to blind the Raduga-Sh target acquisition and aiming system mounted also to the right under the nose. The Mi-24P indeed retained the same equipment and the same antitank and fire support capability as that of the Mi-24V. The production of the "Hind-F" began in 1981 and ended in 1989 with more than 635 copies built.

Mi-24P Mi-24P The first Mi-24Ps in GSFG seem to have been observed at the 178.OBVP from Stendal in 1982. This unit had an equal allocation of 20 Mi-24V and 20 Mi-24P in 1991. Two other units received "Hind-F" in 1984: the 172.OBVP at Parchim (mixed strength with Mi-24V) and the 337.OBVP at Mahlwinkel (mixed strength). This unit took on charge some Mi-24P from the 178.OBVP during the summer of 1992 for some reason, perhaps replacing the Mi-24V or -P whose remaining service life was insufficient to fly for nearly two more years in Germany.
The Mi-24VP "Hind-E mod" was a compromise between the firepower of the Mi-24P and the greater agility of the Mi-24V (because of its nose turret). On this model, a NPPU-24 barbette armed with a GSh-23L 23mm twin-barrel gun replaced the USPU-24 turret. The development of the Mi-24VP began in 1985, and production started in 1989 with only 25 copies completed before the manufacture of the Mi-24 was discontinued that same year and it seems very unlikely that any of those helicopters ever joined the GSFG.

439.OVP BU De nombreux hélicoptères du 439.OVP BU de Parchim arboraient cet emblème sur le côté gauche du nez au début des années 90.

Numerous helicopters of the 439.OVP BU based at Parchim had this badge painted on the left side of their nose during the early nineties.
440.OVP BU La plupart des hélicoptères du 440.OVP BU de Stendal étaient décorés de ce badge sur le nez à gauche au début des années 90. Il représentait les armes de la ville de Stendal, flanquées du drapeau des VVS et du drapeau soviétique. Ce dernier fut remplacé par le drapeau russe après la chute de l'URSS.

During the early nineties, most of the helicopters of the 440.OVP BU from Stendal had this squadron badge painted on the left side of their nose. It represented the Coat of Arms of Stendal town together with the VVS and the Soviet flags. The latter was replaced by a Russian flag after the collapse of USSR.
notes

(1) The rockets were fired in bursts of 4, 8 or 16.
(2) Here is a two-part instructional film from 1989 about air-to-air combat using air-to-air missiles (R-60 at 5'35") and cannon > Part 1 / Part 2.
(3) More information on employment of the Mi-8 in this type of mission are published in the Mi-8 chapter.
     In addition, a new chapter dedicated to the interceptions in the GDR will be developed later.
(4) The Victory over nazi Germany is celebrated on May 9 in Russia.
(5) The helicopters of the NVA would have taken an alert role in 1979. They were deployed to East-German radar sites from 1981 on.
     According to P. Scherbakov, a former member of the PVO troops from the GSFG, the East-German participation would be the result of an
     agreement between Lieutenant General V.F. Korochkine, 16.VA commander from 12/09/78 to 17/02/83, and Colonel General Wolfgang
     Reinhold, LSK/LV commander from 15/03/72 to 30/11/89.
(6) That phenomenon was possible under a high load factor on some helicopters, including the Mi-24 and the Huey Cobra, due to the flexibility of
     the main rotor blades.
(7) Following that incident, it would not have been authorized to approach closer than three kilometers to the border without the authorization of the
     GCI officer.


The Mi-24  < Part 1 > Part 3

previous Plan du site - Sitemap next

THIS PAGE IN ENGLISH HERE

Mi-24V Mi-24V La variété des armements que pouvait transporter le Mi-24V était plus étendue. Outre les classiques conteneurs lance-roquettes UB-32A ainsi que les nouveaux B-8V20A (20 roquettes S-8 de 80 mm) (1), les missiles 9M114 et diverses bombes, le "Hind-E" pouvait utiliser des conteneurs GUV (conteneur universel pour hélicoptères - 9-A-669) configurables en deux versions. Le GUV-8700 était prévu pour une mitrailleuse quadritube YaKB-12,7 (9-A-624) de 12,7 mm et deux mitrailleuses GChG-7,62 (9-A-622) de 7,62 mm, tandis que le GUV-1 était configuré avec un lance-grenades automatique de 30 mm AGS-17 Plamya (Flamme). La panoplie d'armement comprenait également des pods UPK-23-250 avec canons bitubes GCh-23L de 23 mm approvisionnés à 250 coups ainsi que des conteneurs à sous-munitions KMGU-2 pour le largage de mines antichar ou anti-personnel. Il était enfin possible de tirer des roquettes non guidées S-13 de 122 mm (conteneurs B-13L pour cinq roquettes) ou des roquettes S-24B de 240 mm. En configuration de convoyage à longue distance, quatre réservoirs PTB-450 prenaient place sous les pylônes de voilure.

Combat Ces photos ont été prises par la caméra de tir S-13 d'un Mi-24 du premier escadron du 178.OBVP de Stendal lors d'un combat aérien en septembre 1988. © V.Paevskiy.

These pictures were taken by the S-13 strike camera of a Mi-24 from the first squadron of the 178.OBVP from Stendal during an air-to-air combat in September 1988. © V.Paevskiy.
L'utilisation de missiles air-air a été testée sur le Mi-24 au cours des années 70 (missiles Strela) et vers la fin des années 1980 (R-60 et R-73) (2). Certaines publications russes font état de l'équipement de quelques escadrons de "Hind" du GFSA avec des missiles R-60 malheureusement sans donner davantage de détails et les témoignages semblent absents comme si le sujet était tabou. Toujours est-il que la mise en oeuvre des Mi-24 basés en RDA à des fins d'interception air-air ne fait aucun doute. Le 19 juillet 1988 - soit un an après l'atterrissage de Mathias Rust sur la Place Rouge avec un Cessna 172, le 28 mai 1987 - des militaires de la USMLM observèrent un Mi-24K et un Mi-24V de Stendal s'entraînant au combat air-air. Mais déjà en 1986, un rapport de la USMLM affirmait : "... Des hélicoptères HIND ont été observés lors d'attaques combinées, travaillant étroitement avec les avions au cours d'entraînements de nuit avec des fusées éclairantes ou par mauvais temps et lors de scénarios vraisemblables d'interception air-air."
En réalité, les Mi-24 ne faisaient que succéder aux Mi-8 dans le rôle d'intercepteurs d'objectifs évoluant à basse altitude et vitesse lente. Il semblerait en effet qu'un système d'alerte ait été mis sur pied après la crise de Berlin en 1961. Des Mi-4 et des Mi-8 étaient prêts à décoller depuis leurs bases d'attache respectives ou depuis des postes avancés comme les sites radar de la PVO proches de la frontière interallemande (3). Les Mi-24 étant mieux armés et plus rapides, c'est donc très logiquement qu'ils prirent la relève à partir de 1976, une date qui correspond à l'arrivée du modèle "D" en RDA. Les cibles potentielles des Mi-24 se présentaient essentiellement sous trois formes différentes. Il y avait les ballons espions qui en principe évoluaient à très haute altitude. Toutefois, tout ballon semblait suspect : d'après le témoignage d'un membre du personnel affecté à un site radar du 46.ORTB (Bataillon radio-technique autonome), les pilotes attendaient avec quelque excitation le passage des ballons météo ou autres qui constituaient des cibles pouvant être abattues.

Map Mi-24D Il y avait également les avions de tourisme et les planeurs ouest-allemands qui traversaient assez souvent la frontière, on l'imagine, par erreur. N'étant pas des appareils de combat, il n'était pas question de les abattre et un chasseur n'aurait pas pu forcer un appareil aussi lent à atterrir en raison de sa trop grande vitesse propre. L'utilisation d'hélicoptères permettait d'économiser le potentiel des avions de chasse et de réduire la charge de travail pesant sur leurs équipages, tout en fournissant aux pilotes d'hélicoptères l'occasion de s'entraîner au combat aérien - le but était de forcer l'intrus à se poser en RDA. Enfin, il y avait les hélicoptères de l'OTAN qui patrouillaient le long ou trop près de la frontière à moins de cinq kilomètres. L'OTAN testait régulièrement l'efficacité des équipages en alerte de cette manière. Un pilote de Mi-24 témoigne : "J'ai eu l'occasion d'être posté en alerte à Mahlwinkel, Köthen et sur le site radar de Quedlinburg plus d'une fois. Les Allemands de l'Ouest [l'OTAN] connaissaient nos indicatifs et notre degré de qualification et ils vérifiaient régulièrement les capacités de la section d'alerte. Disons simplement que vers 1984-1985, un 9 mai, alors que notre indicatif venait d'être changé comme il l'était régulièrement, notre équipage en alerte décolla à la rencontre d'un objectif à trois reprises et j'ai volé environ 7 heures en ce jour sacré (4)."

Radars Geba Le système de détection et d'interception des objectifs lents incluait les troupes des gardes frontières est-allemandes, les sites radar du GFSA et de la NVA, ainsi que les Mi-24 des forces d'aviation soviétiques et est-allemandes (5). Des aires de stationnement pour les hélicoptères et des locaux pour leurs équipages avaient été aménagés auprès des sites radar de la PVO situés en première ligne disposant de la possibilité de guider les appareils vers les cibles potentielles. Les équipages des Mi-24 n'étaient qu'à 10 ou 20 mètres de leur machine et le temps nécessaire avant de pouvoir décoller était nettement inférieur à celui d'un chasseur. De plus, ces postes avancés n'étaient éloignés que de 6 à 15 kilomètres de la frontière interallemande, ce qui réduisait encore le temps de réaction.
Lorqu'un Mi-24 interceptait un appareil ayant franchi la frontière, il se mettait en formation avec l'intrus et le pilote agitait sa mitrailleuse nasale. Cela était généralement suffisant pour convaincre l'indésirable de poser son appareil à l'endroit approprié le plus proche. Dans le cas contraire, un tir de semonce était effectué. Une fois l'appareil occidental posé, le Mi-24 atterrissait à côté et le mécanicien naviguant débarquait pour surveiller la prise jusqu'à l'arrivée des autorités compétentes. Ensuite, le Mi-24 regagnait sa base.

MS893 Le 3 août 1984, le Socata MS893A Commodore 180 D-EDKK fut intercepté à l'intérieur de l'espace aérien est-allemand par le Mi-24 du Capitiane Jabov et contraint de se poser en RDA. L'équipage affecté à une unité stationnée à Nohra, fut récompensé avec des montres commémoratives. © Archives A.Sviridenko.

Socata MS893A Commodore 180 D-EDKK was interecepted inside the East German airspace on August 3, 1984 by the Mi-24 of Captain Zhabov and forced to land on the GDR soil. The crew, from a unit based at Nohra, was rewarded with engraved watches. © A.Sviridenko archives.
Mi-24V Citons à titre d'exemple les Mi-24 stationnés à Nohra qui intercepètrent trois avions civils en 1984 et 1985. Les escadrons auraient pris leur rôle d'alerte en 1980, un an après le transfert du 336.OBVP de Berdyansk vers Nohra. Outre une permanence à Nohra, un escadron postait régulièrement un Mi-24 sur les sites radar de Geba et Wachstedt. Précisons au passage que les Mi-24 étaient également susceptibles de décoller sur alerte contre des objectifs au sol. Ainsi, quatre équipages étaient en standby pour ce type de mission à Nohra. Leurs appareils étaient armés de conteneurs lance-roquettes chargés (le rôle d'alerte contre des objectifs terrestres pris fin le premier décembre 1989). D'autre part, un équipage supplémentaire fut mis en alerte à partir de juin 1988 contre les ballons sondes vraisemblablement considérés comme des ballons espions potentiels. Selon le témoignage d'un ancien pilote du GFSA, les soviétiques testaient eux aussi l'état de préparation de l'OTAN en envoyant parfois une paire de Mi-24 jusqu'à la frontière. Après une approche à pleine puissance, les hélicoptères effectuaient une ressource au-dessus de la ligne de démarcation et volaient encore environ deux kilomètres du mauvais côté de celle-ci avant de dégager. Mais le 16 juin 1983, la rencontre entre le Mi-24D numéro 07 (lequel aurait été affecté au 345.OVE OP également basé à Nohra) en détachement sur le site radar de Wachstedt et un Bell AH-1G Huey Cobra dans la région de Witzenhausen / Neu Eichenberg, devait se terminer tragiquement.

Newspaper Crash Le pilote du Mi-24 se serait comporté de manière agressive vis-à-vis d'un helicoptère des Gardes frontières allemands (Bundesgrenzschutz) qui patrouillait le long de la frontière. Ce dernier ayant signalé l'incident, un Huey Cobra du 4ème escadron du 11ème Régiment blindé de cavalerie (4/11 ACR) basé à Sickels (Fulda Army Airfield) fut envoyé à la rescousse. S'ensuivirent une série de manoeuvres audacieuses de part et d'autre qui aboutirent finalement au crash du Mi-24 : le rotor principal de ce dernier avait fini par toucher et sectionner la poutre de queue (6) avec les conséquences définitives que l'on peut imaginer. Le Mi-24 s'écrasa à une centaine de mètres de la frontière et fut entièrement détruit par le feu, ne laissant aucune chance aux trois membres d'équipage. Le commandant de régiment, le Colonel I.V. Vladimirovitch se serait rendu sur les lieux de la tragédie peu après à bord d'un Mi-8. Le lendemain, les corps de l'équipage composé du Capitaine You.D. Karpov, pilote, de l'opérateur du système d'armes A.N. Satchkov et du mécanicien naviguant L.N. Semakhine furent retirés de l'épave, tandis que cette dernière était évacuée par des militaires de la NVA (voir également ce > Lien) (7). Comble de malchance, la base de Nohra perdra encore accidentellement lors d'une patrouille frontalière un Mi-8TV corps et biens le 29 avril 1989, lorsque celui-ci entra en collision avec un arbre poussant en haut d'une colline, dans la région d'Ehrenburg.

Cessna En résumé, l'emploi du temps mensuel d'un pilote de Mi-24 au cours des années 80 aurait été souvent répartit comme suit :
- une semaine d'entraînement de routine
- une semaine en déploiement avec tout le régiment sous la tente sur un terrain de
  réserve
- une semaine en alerte sur la base d'attache ou sur un autre site (comme les sites radar
  de la PVO) de l'aube au crépuscule
- une semaine en alerte sur la base d'attache 24 heures sur 24

Mi-24V La prise d'alerte sur la base d'attache se déroulait comme suit (témoignage d'un pilote affecté au 337.OBVP de Mahlwinkel en 1984 - aérodrome situé à 42 km de la frontière, soit 13 minutes de vol) : un équipage était prêt à décoller dans un délai de dix minutes, tandis qu'un second équipage était disponible sous trente minutes. Lorsque le premier équipage décollait, le second passait à un niveau d'alerte supérieur, prêt à son tour à décoller dans les dix minutes. Il y avait deux à trois décollages sur alerte par semaine.

Pour être complet, il faut également mentionner que les Mi-24 étaient susceptibles de donner la chasse aux Missions militaires de liaison occidentales lorsque l'opportunité se présentait. Le Group Captain Richard Bates, commandant en second de BRIXMIS en 1981, témoigne : "Les équipages des hélicoptères soviétiques étaient habiles pour localiser les véhicules des Missions et souvent, ils étaient prêts à les prendre en chasse, descendant parfois si bas qu'ils menaçaient d'entrer en collision avec ces derniers."

DG-64 Mi-24V Le Bort nomer 23 était un Mi-24V qui fut photographié en août 1982 alors qu'il couvrait un exercice de franchissement de cours d'eau près de Sandau. Il était équipé d'un crochet DG-64 pour le transport de charges sous élingues. Celui-ci était situé au centre du cadre en forme de V que l'on peut distinguer sous le fuselage. © USMLM.

Bort number 23 was a Mi-24V that was photographed in August 1982 in conjunction with a river crossing exercise near Sandau. It was equipped with a DG-64 ventral hook to carry loads under sling. The hook was situated in the center of the v-shaped frame visible under the fuselage. © USMLM.
Les "Hind" pouvaient être équipés d'un crochet démontable DG-64 fixé sous le fuselage, afin de transporter des charges sous élingues. Selon les déclarations d'un ancien pilote, beaucoup de Mi-24D en furent équipés, ainsi que les premières séries du Mi-24V. Soulignons que les spécifications techniques relatives au Mi-24P faisaient également état des paramètres d'utilisation du crochet. D'après un autre témoignage, chaque escadron (12 à 18 machines) devait comporter un zveno (4 appareils) dont les équipages étaient entraînés pour ce type de travail. Quatre à six vols d'entraînement par beau temps étaient réalisés chaque année. Cette option était cependant peu répandue. Le décollage vertical d'un Mi-24 lourdement chargé était en effet problématique et de plus, le transport sous élingues provoquait de fortes vibrations du nez en place avant. En cas d'urgence, la charge transportée pouvait être larguée en appuyant sur un bouton situé sur le levier de commande du pas collectif, aussi bien depuis la place arrière que depuis la place avant. De plus, le mécanicien naviguant disposait lui aussi d'une commande de secours. Le crochet, commandé électriquement, était plaqué horizontalement sous le fuselage au repos. La charge maximale que pouvaient emporter les Mi-24V et P s'élevait à 2.400kg. Signalons également que les Mi-24 étaient susceptibles d'emporter le système "Lyounet" (lunette) qui consistait en des conteneurs externes remplis de cartouches fumigènes destinées à établir un écran de fumeé.

Mahlwinkel L'avènement du Mi-24V alla de pair avec l'arrivée d'un nouveau régiment en 1979 au sein du GSFA : le 337.OBVP à Mahlwinkel. D'autres unités abandonnèrent leurs "Hind-D" au profit du "Hind-E" : le 225.OBVP à Brandis (en partie seulement, 1980), le 172.OBVP à Parchim (1980), le 336.OBVP à Nohra et le 178.OBVP à Stendal. D'autre part, de nouvelles unités furent créées en RDA au cours des années 1980 : le 439.OVP BU à Parchim (Mi-24V - 1987), le 440.OVP BU à Stendal (Mi-24D/V - 1987), le 485.OVP BU à Brandis (Mi-24V - 1989), le 486.OVP BU à Altes Lager (Mi-24D/V - 1989) et le 487.OVP BU à Gross Dölln (Mi-24V - 1989 / unité en formation composée de seulement deux escadrons transférée à Werneuchen en 1991). Nous ignorons si à l'époque de leur arrivée, les 486 et 440.OVP BU alignaient uniquement des versions D ou un panaché de modèles D et V. La question reste ouverte également pour le 225.OBVP. Il faut noter que les unités de type OVP BU furent créées sur place par l'amalgamation des nombreuses unités de type OVE OP qui mettaient en oeuvre des Mi-24 aux côtés de Mi-2 et de Mi-8 (lire > L'Armeyskaya Aviatsiya en Allemagne). Ainsi, le 440.OVP BU fut mis sur pied à partir du premier mars 1987 en incorporant des hélicoptères provenant d'escadrons basés à Köthen, Mahlwinkel et Neuruppin. Le processus se termina le 25 mars, lorsque le régiment reçut sa bannière de combat.

Pouchka

Mi-24P Le mécanicien navigant d'un Mi-24P se détend avant de faire ses adieux à Mahlwinkel le 16 mai 1994. © JL Debroux.

The flight engineer of a Mi-24P takes a rest before bidding farewell to Mahlwinkel on 16 May 1994. © JL Debroux.
Mi-24P C'est à l'occasion de l'exercice "Droujba 82" (Amitié 1982) que les observateurs occidentaux découvrirent ce qui semblait être un Mi-24V "Hind-E" armé d'un canon bitube de 23 mm (sic) monté sur le côté avant-droit de son fuselage. Il s'agissait en fait d'un nouveau modèle, le Mi-24P (P pour Pouchetchniy - Armé d'un canon) qui recevait aussitôt le code OTAN de "Hind-F". Cette nouvelle version du "Hind" était à la base un Mi-24V dépourvu de sa tourelle nasale mais armé d'un canon bitude Gryazev/Chipounov GCh-30K (9-A-623K) à cadence de tir rapide d'une longueur de 2M40. Ce pouchka (canon) de 30 mm, homologué en 1976, équipait le Su-25 dans sa version GCh-30, longue de 1M50. Il était monté fixe sur le flanc droit du Mi-24P (le pilote devait donc pointer le nez de l'hélicoptère vers la cible pour tirer) et ses longs tubes se terminaient par des atténuateurs de flammes afin de ne pas aveugler les systèmes optiques du Radouga-Sh montés sous le nez à droite également. Le Mi-24P conservait en effet les mêmes équipements et les mêmes capacités d'appui-feu et antichar que le Mi-24V. La production du "Hind-F" débuta en 1981 pour se terminer en 1989 avec plus de 635 exemplaires construits.

Mi-24P Mi-24P Les premiers Mi-24P du GFSA semblent avoir été observés au 178.OBVP à Stendal en 1982. Cette unité avait une dotation égale de 20 Mi-24V et 20 Mi-24P en 1991. Deux autres unités reçurent des "Hind-F" en 1984 : le 172.OBVP à Parchim (dotation mixte de Mi-24V et -P) et le 337.OBVP à Mahlwinkel (dotation mixte). Cette dernière unité récupéra une partie des Mi-24P du 178.OBVP au cours de l'été 1992 pour une raison inconnue - sans doute remplaçaient-ils des Mi-24V ou P au potentiel restant insuffisant pour voler pendant encore près de deux ans en Allemagne.
Le Mi-24VP "Hind-E mod" était un compromis entre la puissance de feu du Mi-24P et l'agilité plus grande - en raison de sa tourelle de tir - du Mi-24V. Sur ce modèle, la tourelle USPU-24 était remplacée par une barbette NPPU-24 armée d'un canon bitube de 23 mm GCh-23L. Le développement du Mi-24VP débuta en 1985, mais la production ne démarra qu'en 1989 et seulement 25 exemplaires furent terminés avant que la manufacture des Mi-24 ne cesse la même année et il est clair que ce modèle n'a pas rejoint les rangs du GFSA.

439.OVP BU De nombreux hélicoptères du 439.OVP BU de Parchim arboraient cet emblème sur le côté gauche du nez au début des années 90.

Numerous helicopters of the 439.OVP BU based at Parchim had this badge painted on the left side of their nose during the early nineties.
440.OVP BU La plupart des hélicoptères du 440.OVP BU de Stendal étaient décorés de ce badge sur le nez à gauche au début des années 90. Il représentait les armes de la ville de Stendal, flanquées du drapeau des VVS et du drapeau soviétique. Ce dernier fut remplacé par le drapeau russe après la chute de l'URSS.

During the early nineties, most of the helicopters of the 440.OVP BU from Stendal had this squadron badge painted on the left side of their nose. It represented the Coat of Arms of Stendal town together with the VVS and the Soviet flags. The latter was replaced by a Russian flag after the collapse of USSR.
notes

(1) Les roquettes étaient tirées par salves de 4, 8 ou 16.
(2) Voici un film d'instruction datant de 1989 où il est question de combat air-air avec usage de missiles air-air (R-60 à 5'35") et du
     canon > Lien.
(3) Davantage d'informations concernant l'utilisation des Mi-8 dans ce type de mission sont publiées dans le chapitre les concernant.
     D'autre part, un nouveau chapitre dédié aux interceptions en RDA sera développé ultérieurement.
(4) La Victoire sur l'Allemagne nazie est fêtée le 9 mai en Russie.
(5) Les hélicoptères de la NVA auraient commencé à remplir un rôle d'alerte à partir de 1979 et ils furent déployés à leur tour sur les sites radar
     est-allemands en 1981. Selon P. Scherbakov, ancien des troupes radar de la PVO du GFSA, cette participation résulterait d'accords passés
     entre le Lieutenant-Général V.F. Korotchkine, commandant de la 16.VA (12/09/78 - 17/02/83) et le Colonel-Général Wolfgang Reinhold,
     commandant des LSK/LV (15/03/72 - 30/11/89).
(6) Un phénomène possible sous facteur de charge élevé sur certains hélicoptères dont le Mi-24 et le Huey Cobra, engendré par la flexibilité des
     pales du rotor principal.
(7) Suite à cet incident, il n'aurait plus été autorisé de s'approcher à moins de trois kilomères de la frontière sans l'autorisation de l'officier du
     contrôle aérien dirigeant l'hélicoptère vers sa cible.


Les Mi-24  < Part 1 > Part 3

previous Plan du site - Sitemap next