Combat hinds

Mi-24A Mi-24A The first combat and assault Mil' Mi-24 "Hind" helicopters (1) deployed outside the borders of the USSR were observed for the first time at Stendal on September 26, 1973 together with a few Mi-8T "Hip-C." This was the first operational version Mi-24A "Hind-A" assigned to the new 178.OBVP - Separate Combat Helicopter Regiment (2) - likely created to implement the new helicopter in the GDR. More helicopters were also identified at Parchim, where the newly arrived 172.OBVP had settled down a few months earlier. The arrival of these first "Hind" announced the beginning of a considerable strengthening of the fire power of the Group of Soviet Forces in Germany (GSFG). Intensive training began rapidly at the 178.OBVP from September on. There was yet no Army Aviation Combat Training Course for the Mi-24 and the Mi-8 Combat Training Course was used for training. The retractable landing gear was something really new for the helicopter pilots. They landed Mi-24s on their belly several times early during the establishment of the regiment. An "observer" position was introduced within the tower to prevent such incidents. Using binoculars, he visually monitored whether or not the gear were extended during flying activity when helicopters were landing. In 1974, there were flights in two shifts during three to four flying days per week. Numerous missions were flown to the Retzow Air-to-Ground Bombing and Gunnery Range and to the Letzlinger Heide training range. The pilots also practiced the simple overflight of the infantry since often during exercises the "non-battled tested" youngsters fled in horror from the friendly roaring Mi-24s passing overhead at extremely low altitudes. It was also necessary to master the 9M17M Falanga-M (AT-2 "Swatter") anti-tank missiles. The Mi-24A could indeed carry four of those missiles that were mounted on launching rails attached to the wingtip endplates. The front-seat operator guided them manually through orders given by a radio link (a fairing under the nose protected the Raduga-F weapon system guidance antenna). He used a tank sight for that purpose: the Falanga (Phalanx) had in fact originally been developed to equip BDRM-1 and -2 light armored vehicles. This subsonic weapon (540 km/h) could penetrate shielding up to 28 cm thick at distances ranging from 1000 to 4000 meters. However, the hit probability with one missile on a target did not exceed 30%.

Mi-24A Mi-24A The Mi-24 itself developed faster than the weapon system specifically intended for it. Consequently, the 'A' version just used the same type of missiles than those previously used with the Mi-4AV (3) as well as well as the K-4V weapon system of the latter. This complex was also fitted to the Mi-8TV "Hip-E" (1974) that also carried four Falanga ATGM. Thus, the GSFG had Mi-8 and Mi-24 with anti-tank capabilities on strength for a few years and at the same time. A swiveling Afanas'yev A-12 machine gun, of a caliber of 12,7 mm was mounted under the nose, while four wing pylons allowed the carriage of various weapons such as four UB-32A rocket launchers that could fire 32 57 mm S-5 rockets each or four bombs weighing 50 to 250 kg. It was also possible to carry two 500 kg bombs or ZB-500 napalm canisters.

Mi-24A More than 240 Mi-24A were produced by Arsen'yev Factory n°116 between 1970 (entry into service with the VVS in 1972) and early 1975. Whereas "Hind" pilots generally were pleased with the agility of such a big and heavy helicopter, the tail rotor located on the right side of the tail fin was insufficient. Its subsequent displacement to the left side solved the problem (the tail rotor switched from a "pusher" to a "tractor" configuration). Also, the service life of the Izotov TV3-117 turbines was initialy limited to 50 hours. The engine potential before overhaul was increased to 300 hours with the Series 2 turbines in 1973 and 500 hours in 1975. By 1977, the Series 3 engines had reached a potential of 750 hours. A few examples of the Mi-24U "Hind-C" trainer version were also built. The latter was unarmed: it had no gun and no Raduga-F (some helicopters however kept that weapon system and were consequently able to fire ATGM). The instructor was seating in the front seat where all the instrumentation and flight controls were available. At least one Mi-24U was based at Parchim. However, we ignore if the Mi-24DU "Hind-D" that was the training version of the next operational version, the Mi-24D, was deployed in the GDR.

Hind at Retzow

Crocodiles (Nickname of the Mi-24)

Mi-24D Falanga Production of the Mi-24D "Hind-D" was launched in 1973 at Rostov Factory n°168. Some 625 Mi-24D/DU had been built when their production ceased in late 1983. Since the Shturm missiles that should have armed the Mi-24A still were not available, the Mi-24D was an interim model that compensated for the deficiencies of the "Hind-A." The "veranda" - as the Soviets called it - of the cockpit did not offer an ideal field of vision, far from it. During night sorties near the ground, lights on the ground were reflected in the flat canopy glass, which sometimes caused the pilot to lose spatial orientation. Moreover, the common cockpit decreased the chances of surviving a direct hit to that area, the pilot and the weapons system operator being at risk of being injured or killed at the same time. It was replaced by the double tandem cockpit equipped with bulletproof glass in front, so characteristic of the Mi-24. This version also benefited from various improvements previously tested on the Mi-24B, which did not become operational. The nose machine-gun was replaced by a USPU-24 nose turret with a Gatling-type 12,7 mm machine-gun, the Yakushev/Borzov YakB-12,7 (also designated 9-A-624 (4)) with a rate-of-fire of 4000-5000 rounds per minute and a combat load of 1470 shells. It was associated with the KPS-53AV stabilized gun sight system. The latter included an analog computer linked to sensors recording flight parameters, enabling automatic aiming correction. That complex included the KS-53 gun sight with which the weapons system operator (WSO) could fire the machine-gun and also drop bombs. The 9M17M missile was replaced by the 9M17P Falanga-PV, associated with Raduga-PF. The probability of a direct hit on the target was improved to 80% with this improved version of the ATGM.

Sight Mi-24D The Raduga complex included a new target aiming and acquisition system. It was originally a submarine periscope dating back to the 1930s mounted upside down! The top side of the latter was in the right front corner of the WSO cockpit, while the other end of the periscope was located inside a new fairing below the right side of the nose. But, of course, this piece of equipment that was obviously satisfactory had to be adapted to its new task. Thus, the mirror was gyro-stabilized. Also, it was possible to choose between a narrow or wide field of view. An integrated thermal seeker allowed automatic tracking of the position of the missile, the latter being equipped with two tracers at the rear. The trajectory of the missile was then corrected by radio-link, while the WSO continually kept the sight crosshairs on the target until impact. Two small metal doors protected the windows of the optics when not in use.

Mi-24D The missile's guidance antenna was now housed in a small swiveling fairing attached under the left side of the nose. Unlike its predecessor, the Mi-24D could carry PTB-450 external fuel tanks under-wing. Four ASO-2V-02 removable infrared decoy launchers containing 32 flares each could be attached under the rear portion of the tail boom. A SPO-10 Sirena-3M radar homing and warning receiver (RHWR) also protected the helicopter.
The introduction of the Mi-24D would gradually further increase the fire power of the GSFG. In addition to the replacement of the Mi-24A in the 172.OBVP in 1976 and in the 178.OBVP probably during the same time frame, two new "Hind-D" regiments arrived, one at Brandis in 1977 (225.OBVP) and the other at Nohra in 1979 (336.OBVP). The 440.OVP BU established at Stendal much later in 1987 was still equipped (in totality or partially?) with Mi-24D. When it left Germany in 1992, that unit was still flying something like two dozen 'D' models alongside one dozen 'V' models. Similarly, the 225.OBVP that joined Allstedt in 1985 was still flying some Mi-24D in 1991 (the unit was equipped with approximately 20 'D' and 20 'V' models).

Blocking at Nohra

Mi-24V Production of the Mi-24V "Hind-E" began in 1976 and, ten years later, around 1500 machines had been built in Arsen'yev and Rostov. The letter 'V' in the designation meant Vysotnyy or "high-altitude" in English. This version was indeed powered by more-powerful Izotov TV3-117V turbines that could deliver up to 2225 hp - hence its ability to operate more easily at a higher altitude - while the Mi-24A and 'D' used TV3-117 turbines rated at 2200 hp. In addition, the TV3-117V could still provide 1700 hp at 1000 meters and 40°C, while the TV3-117 could only provide 1420 hp under the same conditions. The Mi-24V was finally armed with 9M114 Shturm-V (AT-6 "Spiral") ATGM. The new supersonic missile flying at 1260-1440 km/h could pierce shielding 56 cm thick at a distance ranging from 800 to 5000 meters. The hit probability on a target now exceeded 92%. Thanks to its more compact shape and its folding stabilizers, it could be stored inside a cylindrical container.

Mi-24V Ce Mi-24V photographié à Parchim le 3 février 1984 emportait sous les pylones externes des adaptateurs permettant d'y fixer quatre missiles antichars. Un "Hind-E" équipé de la sorte pouvait par conséquent emporter jusqu'à 16 missiles si deux adaptateurs doubles étaient montés en bout de plans. Celui-ci ne transportait que deux Chtourm et deux conteneurs UB-32A. © USMLM.

This Mi-24V was photographed at Parchim on February 3, 1984. It was carrying stacked Shturm ATGM mounts (4 missiles) on its outer universal wing pylons. An helicopter equipped like this one could carry up to 16 missiles when two twin adapters were mounted at the wing endplates. This "Hind" had only two missiles and two UB-32A rocket pods under its wings. © USMLM.
Mi-24P The "Hind-E" carried two hard points for these missiles at the wing endplates. Experiments were conducted around 1986 to increase the firepower of the Mi-24V by doubling the number of missiles attached to the wing tips and also by hanging under the outboard wing pylons double racks that could carry four additional missiles each (they were probably the same type of rack as that fitted to the Ka-29). Therefore, a Mi-24V in that configuration could carry up to 16 anti-tank missiles! We hardly dare to imagine the devastation that a single squadron equipped like that could, at least theoretically, have inflicted on the armored forces of NATO... However, we do not know to what extent that weapon configuration had been implemented at the unit level. The fact is that such a configuration was observed at least partially in the GDR, as shown in the photo above left. The usual configuration, however, was limited to two missiles attached to the wing tips (four missiles in total), sometimes augmented by two additional missiles attached to double racks under each outer wing pylon (eight missiles in total).

Mi-24V Mi-24V The missile guidance antenna of the Raduga-Sh (Sh for 'Shturm') was a little more bulky. This moving antenna was housed inside a fixed teardrop fairing with a black dielectric panel in front, attached to the left side of the nose turret. This fairing made it possible to distinguish definitively a Mi-24V from a Mi-24D. The pilot was employing a new ASP-17V automatic sight that could be used for firing the nose machine-gun in a fixed (zero) position, to drop bombs and fire unguided rockets (5). The first "Hind-E" models had no PZU air intake filters in front of the turbines. These filters were fitted out on the later Mi-24V series and they were often retrofitted on the early series machines, as well as on the Mi-24D. The Mi-24V of the GSFG were not equipped with the SPO-15 Bereza RHAWR that could be recognized by its prominent fairings positioned behind the cockpit and on the tail boom. They retained instead the older SPO-10 system.

Mi-24V Like the Mi-24D, the Mi-24V could carry four ASO-2V-02 IR flare launchers, each containing 32 flares, under the tail boom. These later were replaced by six identical dispensers mounted on the rear of the fuselage sides (three on each side). They were fixed at an angle of about 15° forward and were sometimes shrouded with an aerodynamic fairing. The flares were launched automatically at a rate of between four to sixteen at one time at two- to six-second intervals. A support for an SOEP-V1A IR jammer Lampa infrakrasnykh pomekh (infrared jamming lamp) generally designated Lipa - "Hot Brick" for NATO (6) - was located behind the main rotor, at the root of the tail boom. The Lipa was composed of a xenon lamp and a rotating deflector accommodated in a thimble-shaped housing. This system produced erratic infrared signals that disrupted an IR missile guidance system. The first Mi-24V series did not have that equipment, while some late-series Mi-24D were equipped with it. This type of material, however, was retrofitted on many older "Hind-D" and "-E" models. It was possible to adapt EVU gas diluters on the engine exhausts to reduce the IR signature of the helicopter. However, that was possible only on those machines produced after 1984 that were equipped with exhaust nozzles cut vertically (rather than beveled) and, until proven otherwise, the only helicopters of the GSFG that could have received that equipment were the Mi-24K and R models (7).

487.OVP BU Un escadron du 487.OVP BU sur le départ à Werneuchen le 9 août 1993. © H.Mambour.

A squadron of the 487.OVP BU ready to leave Werneuchen on 9 August 1993. © H.Mambour.
notes

(1) The Mi-24 was not solely a combat helicopter: it could carry up to eight armed infantrymen in the rear compartment. The windows of that
     compartment could be opened and a machine gun support was placed at their base. However, missions with infantryman aboard were not the
     more common. The cockpit and rear compartment were pressurized for protection against NBC fallout.
     It was possible to carry two stretchers and medical equipment in a medevac configuration.
     The crew consisted of a pilot, an operator of the weapon system (WSO) with basic flight controls at his disposition and a flight engineer seated on
     a folding chair just behind the pilot, in the passage leading to the rear compartment. Each crew member had a parachute.
(2) For further explanation of the organization and designation of the units, read the introductory chapter 4.1
(3) The Mi-4AV "Hound-C" entered service in 1968. Nearly 185 Mi-4A were converted according to the standards of this combat variant, which was
     equipped with two triple racks for six UB-16-57 rocket launchers, or a maximum one ton of bombs. In addition, four rails were fixed above the racks
     to carry four 9M17M Falanga ATGM. Finally, a 12,7 mm machine gun was housed in a ventral gondola. This was a lot for a machine that had not
     been designed for this purpose: the power-to-weight ratio was low and neither the crew nor vital helicopter systems had protection.
(4) Designation of the Chief Rocket and Artillery Directorate (GRAU).
(5) Mi-24V or P were equipped with a laser range finder in Afghanistan. The device was located in lieu of the fourth cabin window on the right side.
     That discreet small box was covered with the international symbol indicating radioactivity. Helicopters equipped with such devices were based in
     USSR during the late nineties.
(6) Incidently, "Hot brick" was rather appropriate as one Mi-24 crew member remembers: "Those practical helicopter drivers also found a domestic
     use for this truly universal system, having modified it into a powerful "oven" to cook potatoes and heat water for the teapot."
(7) The twelve Mi-24P of the NVA delivered in 1989 had that equipment although it was only tested on the ground.


The Mi-24  > Part 2 > Part 3

previous Plan du site - Sitemap next

THIS PAGE IN ENGLISH HERE

Des biches de combat

Mi-24A Mi-24A C'est à Stendal que les premiers hélicoptères de combat et d'assaut (1) Mil Mi-24 "Hind" (ou Biche, en anglais) déployés hors des frontières de l'URSS, furent observés initialement le 26 septembre 1973 en compagnie de quelques Mi-8T "Hip-C". Il s'agissait de la première version opérationnelle Mi-24A "Hind-A", affectée au nouveau 178.OBVP - Régiment autonome d'hélicoptères de combat (2) - vraisemblablement créé pour mettre en oeuvre le nouvel hélicoptère en RDA. D'autres machines furent également identifiées à Parchim où le nouveau 172.OBVP avait établi ses quartiers quelques mois auparavant. L'arrivée de ces premiers "Hind" annonçait le début d'un renforcement considérable de la puissance de feu du Groupe des Forces Soviétiques en Allemagne (GFSA). Un entraînement intensif commença rapidement au 178.OBVP à partir du mois de septembre. Il n'existait pas encore de cursus de formation au combat pour le Mi-24 et c'est celui adapté au Mi-8 qui était utilisé initialement pour l'entraînement. Le train rentrant du Mi-24 était une grande nouveauté pour les pilotes d'hélicoptère, ce qui eut pour conséquence quelques atterrissages sur le ventre. Aussi, un observateur présent dans la tour de contrôle était chargé de surveiller les manoeuvres d'atterrissage à la jumelle afin de prévenir d'autres incidents. En 1974, deux sessions de vol étaient organisées trois à quatre jours par semaine. De très nombreuses missions avaient pour objectif le champ de tir de Retzow et le champ de manoeuvre de Letzlinger Heide. Les vols d'entraînement comprenaient aussi le survol de l'infanterie afin d'habituer les nouveaux appelés peu aguerris au passage au-dessus de leurs têtes et à très basse altitude des Mi-24 et ce, afin d'éviter qu'ils ne s'enfuient terrorisés comme cela arrivait parfois ! Il s'agissait également de maîtriser les missiles antichars 9M17M Falanga-M (AT-2 "Swatter"). Le Mi-24A pouvait en effet emporter quatre de ces missiles montés sur des rails situés en bout de plans. L'opérateur assis en place avant guidait manuellement ces derniers via des ordres donnés par radio (l'antenne de guidage du système d'armes Radouga-F ou Arc-en-ciel, se trouvait dans un carénage sous le nez). Il utilisait à cette fin un viseur de char : le Falanga (Phalange) avait en effet été développé à l'origine pour équiper les blindés légers BDRM-1 et 2. Cette arme subsonique (540 km/h) était capable de pénétrer des blindages de 28 cm à une distance allant de 1000 et 4000 mètres. Toutefois, avec un taux de coups au but estimé à seulement 30%, l'efficacité de ces missiles restait limitée.

Mi-24A Mi-24A Le développement du Mi-24 fut plus rapide que celui du système d'armes spécifique qui lui était destiné. Aussi, la version A devait-elle se contenter des mêmes types de missiles que ceux utilisés auparavant sur les Mi-4AV (3) ainsi que du système d'armes K-4V de ce dernier. Ce complexe équipait aussi les Mi-8TV "Hip-E" (1974) qui emportaient également quatre Falanga. C'est ainsi que le GFSA disposa pendant quelques années et en même temps de Mi-8 et de Mi-24 ayant des capacités antichars. D'autre part, une mitrailleuse pivotante Afanasyev A-12,7 d'un calibre de 12,7 mm était montée sous le nez, tandis que quatre pylones situés sous voilure permettaient l'emport d'amements divers tels que quatre conteneurs lance-roquettes UB-32A pouvant tirer chacun 32 roquettes S-5 de 57 mm ou encore quatre bombes de 50 à 250 kg. Il était également possible d'emporter deux bombes de 500 kg ou deux conteneurs de napalm ZB-500.

Mi-24A Plus de 240 Mi-24A furent produits par l'usine n°116 d'Arsenyev entre 1970 (entrée en service au sein des VVS en 1972) et le début de 1975. Si les pilotes furent agréablement surpris par l'agilité d'un hélicoptère aussi massif, la réponse du rotor anticouple placé à droite de la dérive était insuffisante. Son déplacement ultérieur du côté gauche - le rotor devenant "tracteur" au lieu de "pousseur" - résolut le problème. D'autre part, la durée de vie des turbines Izotov TV3-117 était initialement limitée à 50 heures, mais le potentiel avant révision fut porté à 300 heures pour les moteurs de série 2 en 1973 et à 500 heures en 1975, encore augmenté à 750 heures avec les moteurs de série 3 en 1977. Une version d'entraînement Mi-24U "Hind-C" fut construite à quelques exemplaires. Cette dernière ne disposait pas de mitrailleuse, pas plus que du Radouga-F (certaines machines conservèrent cependant ce système d'armes, les rendant capables de tirer des missiles antichars). L'instructeur assis en place avant avait toute l'instrumentation ainsi qu'une double commande à sa disposition. Au moins une machine de ce type était stationnée à Parchim. Nous ignorons si le Mi-24DU "Hind-D", version d'écolage du modéle opérationnel suivant, le Mi-24D, fut déployé en RDA.

Hind à Retzow

Crocodiles (surnom du Mi-24)

Mi-24D Falanga La production du Mi-24D "Hind-D" fut lancée dès 1973 à l'usine n°168 de Rostov. 625 Mi-24D/DU avaient été fabriqués lorsque cette dernière cessa fin 1983. Les missiles Chtourm dont aurait dû être équipé le Mi-24A n'étant toujours pas disponibles, le Mi-24D était un modèle intérimaire visant à compenser les déficiences du "Hind-A". La "véranda" - comme l'appelaient les Soviétiques - du poste de pilotage n'offrait pas un champ de vision idéal, loin s'en faut. Lors des sorties nocturnes à basse altitude, les lumières du sol se reflétaient sur les vitrages, ce qui provoquait parfois la désorientation spatiale du pilote. Par ailleurs, le cockpit commun diminuait les chances de survie en cas de coup au but dans cette zone, le pilote et l'opérateur du système d'armes risquant d'être blessés ou tués en même temps. C'est ainsi qu'apparut le double cockpit en tandem doté de vitres blindées à l'avant, si caractéristique du Mi-24. Cette version bénéficiait par ailleurs de diverses améliorations testées auparavant sur le Mi-24B qui n'entra pas en service. La mitrailleuse nasale était remplacée par une tourelle USPU-24 avec une mitrailleuse de type Gatling Yakouchev/Borzov YakB-12,7 de 12,7 mm - désignée aussi 9-A-624 (4) - approvisionnée à 1470 coups dont la cadence de tir atteignait 4000 à 5000 coups par minute. Cette dernière était asservie par le système de visée stabilisé KPS-53AV qui comprenait un ordinateur analogique relié à des capteurs enregistrant les paramètres du vol offrant ainsi la possibilité de corriger la visée automatiquement. Le complexe incluait le viseur KS-53 qui permettait à l'opérateur assis en place avant non seulement de tirer avec la mitrailleuse, mais également de larguer des bombes. Le missile 9M17M fut remplacé par le modèle 9M17P Falanga-PV, associé au Radouga-PF. Ce dernier avait une probabilité de coups au but de l'ordre de 80%.

Sight Mi-24D Le complexe Radouga comprenait un nouveau système de visée et d'acquisition de la cible. Il s'agissait au départ d'un périscope de sous-marin datant des années 30 monté tête en bas ! La base de ce dernier se trouvait à l'avant-droit du cockpit de l'opérateur du système d'armes, alors que l'autre extrémité du périscope aboutissait dans un nouveau carénage situé sous le côté droit du nez. Mais bien entendu, cet appareillage de toute évidence satisfaisant avait subi des modifications afin de lui permettre de remplir sa nouvelle tâche. Ainsi, son miroir était-il gyro-stabilisé. D'autre part, il était possible de choisir un champ de vision large ou étroit. Un capteur thermique intégré permettait de suivre automatiquement la position du missile grâce aux radiations émises par deux traceurs situés à l'arrière de ce dernier. La trajectoire du missile était ainsi corrigée par radio, l'opérateur du système d'armes se contentant quant à lui de garder le réticule du viseur sur l'objectif jusqu'à l'impact. Deux petites portes métalliques protégaient les vitres disposées devant les optiques lorsqu'elles n'étaient pas utilisées.

Mi-24D L'antenne de guidage des missiles était désormais logée dans un petit carénage orientable attaché sous la partie gauche du nez. Contrairement à son prédécesseur, le Mi-24D pouvait emporter des résevoirs externes PTB-450 sous voilure. Quatre lance-leurres infrarouges démontables ASO-2V-02 contenant 32 leurres thermiques chacun pouvaient être attachés sous la partie arrière de la poutre caudale. Un localisateur/détecteur de radars SPO-10 Sirena-3M assurait également la protection de l'hélicoptère.
L'introduction du Mi-24D allait progressivement renforcer la montée en puissance de l'Aviation des Forces Terrestres en RDA. Outre le remplacement des Mi-24A du 172.OBVP en 1976 et du 178.OBVP vraisemblablement à la même époque, deux nouveaux régiments alignant des "Hind-D" firent leur apparition à Brandis en 1977 (225.OBVP) ainsi qu'à Nohra en 1979 (336.OBVP). Le 440.OVP BU formé à Stendal bien plus tard en 1987 était encore équipé (en totalité ou en partie ?) de Mi-24D. Lors de son départ d'Allemagne en 1992, cette unité mettait encore en oeuvre une quinzaine de modèles "D" aux côtés d'une douzaine de modèles "V". De même, le 225.OBVP qui rejoignit Allstedt en 1985 volait toujours en partie sur Mi-24D en 1991 (l'unité disposait d'environ 20 modèles "D" et de 20 modèles "V").

Blocage à Nohra

Mi-24V La production du Mi-24V "Hind-E" commença en 1976. Dix ans plus tard, environ 1500 machines avaient été construites à Arsenyev et Rostov. La lettre V de la désignation signifiait Visotniy ou "altitude" en Français. Cette version était en effet motorisée par des turbines Izotov TV3-117V plus puissantes pouvant délivrer jusqu'à 2225 cv - d'où sa capacité à opérer plus aisément en altitude - tandis que les Mi-24A et D utilisaient des turbines TV3-117 de 2200 cv. De plus, les TV3-117V fournissaient encore 1700 cv à mille mètres sous 40°C, tandis que les TV3-117 ne donnaient plus que 1420 cv dans les mêmes conditions. Le Mi-24V était enfin armé de missiles antichars 9M114 Chtourm-V (AT-6 "Spiral"). Le nouveau missile supersonique pouvait percer un blindage de 56 cm à une distance allant de 800 à 5000 mètres en volant à 1260-1440 km/h. La probabilité de coup au but était désormais supérieure à 92%. D'un aspect plus compact, ses empennages repliables permettaient de le loger dans un conteneur cylindrique.

Mi-24V Ce Mi-24V photographié à Parchim le 3 février 1984 emportait sous les pylones externes des adaptateurs permettant d'y fixer quatre missiles antichars. Un "Hind-E" équipé de la sorte pouvait par conséquent emporter jusqu'à 16 missiles si deux adaptateurs doubles étaient montés en bout de plans. Celui-ci ne transportait que deux Chtourm et deux conteneurs UB-32A. © USMLM.

This Mi-24V was photographed at Parchim on February 3, 1984. It was carrying stacked Shturm ATGM mounts (4 missiles) on its outer universal wing pylons. An helicopter equipped like this one could carry up to 16 missiles when two twin adapters were mounted at the wing endplates. This "Hind" had only two missiles and two UB-32A rocket pods under its wings. © USMLM.
Mi-24P Les "Hind-E" emportaient régulièrement deux points d'emport pour ces missiles au bout de chaque plan. Des expérimentations ont été menées vers 1986 en vue d'accroître la puissance de feu des "Hind-E" en doublant le nombre de missiles attachés au bout des ailes et en attachant sous les pylônes externes, des rateliers pouvant transporter quatre missiles supplémentaires chacun (c'est sans doute le même type de ratelier qui équipe également le Ka-29). Un Mi-24V ainsi armé pouvait donc tirer pas moins de 16 missiles antichars ! On ose à peine imaginer les ravages qu'un seul escadron équipé de la sorte aurait pu, du moins théoriquement, infliger aux forces blindées de l'OTAN... Nous ignorons toutefois jusqu'à quel point cette possibilité a été implémentée en unité. Toujours est-il qu'une telle configuration fut observée au moins partiellement en RDA, comme l'illustre la photo ci-dessus à gauche. La configuration de routine se limitait cependant aux deux missiles accrochés en bout d'ailes (soit 4 missiles), parfois augmentée par deux missiles supplémetaires attachés à des rateliers doubles sous chaque pylône de voilure externe (soit 8 missiles).

Mi-24V Mi-24V L'antenne de guidage des missiles du Radouga-Ch (Ch pour "Chtourm") était devenue un peu plus volumineuse. Cette antenne mobile était logée dans un carénage fixe en forme de goutte d'eau avec un panneau diélectrique noir à l'avant, attaché à gauche de la tourelle nasale. Ce carénage permettait de distinguer à coup sûr un Mi-24V d'un Mi-24D. Le pilote utilisait un nouveau viseur automatique de type ASP-17V qui lui permettait de tirer avec la mitrailleuse nasale en position fixe, de tirer des roquettes et de larguer des bombes (5). Les premiers modèles du "Hind-E" étaient dépourvus de filtres d'entrée d'air PZU devant les turbines. Ces filtres qui équipèrent les Mi-24V suivants furent souvent montés en rattrapage sur les machines de début de série ainsi que sur les Mi-24D. Les Mi-24V du GFSA ne jouissaient pas du détecteur d'alerte radar SPO-15 Beryoza qui se reconnaissait aux carénages proéminents positionnés derrière le cockpit et sur la poutre de queue, mais conservaient le modèle plus ancien SPO-10.

Mi-24V A l'instar des Mi-24D, ils pouvaient emporter quatre lance-leurres infrarouges ASO-2V-02 contenant chacun 32 leurres, sous la poutre caudale. Ces derniers furent ensuite remplacés par six dispositifs identiques montés sur les flancs arrières du fuselage (3 de chaque côté). Ils étaient fixés sous un angle d'environ 15° vers l'avant et bénéficiaient parfois d'un carénage aérodynamique. La cadence de tir des leurres pouvait varier de 4 à 16 exemplaires avec des intervalles de 2 à 6 secondes entre chaque salve. Un support pour un brouilleur IR SOEP-V1A Lampa Infrakrasnych Pomiekh (lampe de brouillage IR) plus généralement désigné Lipa - "Hot Brick" pour l'OTAN (6) - se trouvait en retrait derrière le rotor principal, là ou prenait naissance la poutre de queue. Le Lipa était composé d'une lampe au xénon et d'un déflecteur rotatif logés dans un boîtier en forme de dé à coudre. Ce système produisait des signaux infrarouges erratiques qui perturbaient le guidage des missiles IR. Les premiers Mi-24V de série ne disposaient pas de cet équipement, tandis que quelques Mi-24D de fin de série en furent équipés. Ce type de matériel fut toutefois monté en rattrapage sur bon nombre des "Hind-D" et "-E" les plus anciens. Il était possible de poser des dilueurs de jet EVU sur les échappements des turbines afin de réduire leur signature IR. Cela ne concernait toutefois que les machines produites après 1984 dont les tuyères d'échappement étaient coupées verticalement (au lieu d'être biseautées) et jusqu'à preuve du contraire, les seules machines du GFSA susceptibles de recevoir cet équipement de protection étaient les Mi-24K et R (7).

487.OVP BU Un escadron du 487.OVP BU sur le départ à Werneuchen le 9 août 1993. © H.Mambour.

A squadron of the 487.OVP BU ready to leave Werneuchen on 9 August 1993. © H.Mambour.
notes

(1) Le Mi-24 n'était pas seulement un hélicoptère de combat : il pouvait emporter jusqu'à huit fantassins armés en soute. Les fenêtres de celle-ci
     pouvaient s'ouvrir et un support pour y appuyer une arme se trouvait placé à leur base. Toutefois, les missions impliquant le transport et la dépose
     de fantassins étaient loin d'être les plus courantes.
     Le poste de pilotage et la soute étaient pressurisés en guise de protection contre les retombées NBC.
     Le transport de deux civières ainsi que d'équipement médical était également possible en configuration Evasan.
     L'équipage était composé du pilote, de l'opérateur du système d'armes disposant des commandes de vol de base et d'un mécanicien navigant
     assis sur un siège pliant, juste derrière le pilote, dans le passage qui mène à la soute. Chaque membre d'équipage disposait d'un parachute.
(2) Pour davantage d'explications sur l'organisation et les désignations d'unités, relire le chapitre d'introduction 4.1
(3) Le Mi-4AV "Hound-C" est entré en service en 1968. Près de 185 exemplaires du Mi-4A furent convertis selon les standards de cette variante de
     combat qui était équipée de rateliers d'armement triples pour six conteneurs lance-roquettes UB-16-57 ou des bombes à concurrence d'une tonne.
     De plus, quatre rails étaient fixés au-dessus des rateliers pour autant de missiles antichars 9M17M Falanga. Enfin, une mitrailleuse de 12,7 mm
     prenait place dans une gondole ventrale. Cela faisait beaucoup pour une machine qui n'avait pas été étudiée dans ce but : le rapport
     poids/puissance était faible et l'équipage ainsi que les systèmes vitaux de la machine ne bénéficiaient d'aucune protection.
(4) Désignation de la Direction principale de l'artillerie et des missiles (GRAOu).
(5) En Afghanistan, des Mi-24V ou P furent équipés d'un télémètre laser monté sur le flanc droit, en lieu et place du quatrième hublot. Ce discret petit
     boîtier était recouvert du symbole international signalant la radioactivité. Des helicoptères basés en Union Soviétique en étaient équipés à la fin des
     années 90.
(6) Incidemment, "Hob Brick" ou "Brique Chaude" était une appellation appropriée comme en témoigne un membre d'équipage de Mi-24 : "Les pilotes
     d'hélicoptères ont également découvert un usage domestique pour ce système vraiment universel en l'utilisant comme four pour cuire des
     pommes de terre ou chauffer l'eau du thé."
(7) Les douze Mi-24P de la NVA livrés en 1989 disposaient de cet équipement bien qu'il ne fut testé qu'au sol.


Les Mi-24  > Part 2 > Part 3

previous Plan du site - Sitemap next