Yak-28PP 2.AE The 931.OGRAP experienced a significant change in 1986. The regiment was composed of two squadrons, the first flying different MiG-25RB variants and the second on Yak-28R. However, in June, the Yak-28R were sent to Welzow where they joined those of the local 11.ORAP in preparation for their withdrawal from Germany. The last Yak-28R still based in the former GDR left Welzow on July 2, 1986. Also in June, the Yak-28PP of the third squadron from the 11.ORAP departed Welzow for Werneuchen where they reconstituted the second squadron of the 931.OGRAP. Thus, when those changes were completed, this unit became a composite reconnaissance and electronic warfare regiment (for a description of the Yak-28PP, refer to the first page about the 11.ORAP). In addition, a third electronic warfare squadron was established within the 931.OGRAP when twelve MiG-25BM "Foxbat-F" (some of those aircraft were among the last one built) and three MiG-25RU "Foxbat-C" arrived soon thereafter. The last aircraft landed at Werneuchen in late 1986.

MiG-25BM MiG-25BM The MiG-25BM (Bombardirovshchik Modifikatsirovanyy - Bomber Modified) "Foxbat-F" were the only aircraft within the 16.VA inventory specifically designed to detect and destroy radar sites, SAM batteries and also underground command posts. This aircraft type was assigned to reconnaissance units equipped with MiG-25s, for operational conversion and logistical reasons. Also, the reconnaissance eskadril'i provided relevant information about the MiG-25BM targets. Another MiG-25BM squadron was based at Brzeg in Poland, where it operated within the 164.OGRAP, while a third and last squadron flew within the 10.ORAP at Shchuchin in Belarus. Note, however, that SEAD missions (Suppression of Enemy Air Defences) were not new nor did they rest upon the MiG-25BM shoulders alone. First, Su-17M2 and M3 (and some upgraded Su-17M) and Su-24 could fire Kh-28 (AS-9 "Kyle") anti-radiation missiles (ARM). The Su-17M2/M3 had to carry a Metel'-A (Blizzard) designation pod and the Su-24 a Filin-N (Eagle Owl) pod that was later mounted internally. Then, MiG-27D/M/K, Su-17M3 and M4 as well as Su-24M could fire Kh-25MP and Kh-27PS (AS-12 "Kegler" - same designations for these two missiles) ARM. The MiG-27D/M/K and the Su-17M3/M4 had to use a V'yuga (Snowstorm) designation pod and the Su-24M a Fantasmagoriya (Phantasmagoria) pod in order to be able to fire these weapons.

C/N MiG-25RU MiG-25RBM, alias Article 66 or 02M (1) - designated MiG-25BM at squadon level - was developed in 1976. Based on the "Foxbat" reconnaissance and bombardment variant (a MiG-25RBV "Foxbat-B" airframe was used as testbed), it was developed as a platform for the Kh-58 (AS-11 "Kilter") anti-radiation misile (2). Only 40 aircraft were manufactured at Gor'kiy between 1982 and 1986. The MiG-25BM carried an integrated radar detection and electronic countermeasures suite called Yaguar (Jaguar) that required a 20-centimeter nose extension. The suite included the modified PRGS-58M (Passivnaya Radiolokatsionnaya Golovka Samonavedeniya - Passive Radar Seeker) missile seeker head, a Sych-M (Owl) control and target designation system, a SPS-151 OZh Siren-1D-OZh (Lilac) active ECM complex and a SPS-135 Lyutik (Buttercup) passive noise generator module that were used to jam ground defence radars and, finally, a SPO-15LM Bereza-LM (Birch) RHWR that warned the pilot when his aircraft was locked by a ground-based or airborne radar. The "Jaguar" complex worked in conjunction with the upgraded Peleng-2M navigation complex that was adapted to the programming parameters of the anti-radar missiles. In addition, the aircraft were equipped with a Tangazh ELINT suite enabling them to also fulfill electronic reconnaissance tasks along the German inner border. In an attempt to hide the true nature of the MiG-25BM, their nose were covered with dark grey paint in order to give them the appearance of fighter-interceptor variants, an impression that was reinforced by their four wing pylons. The MiG-25BM could carry up to four anti-radar missiles under its wings (only two missiles were planned during the design phase) or a combination of missiles and bombs (up to eight FAB-500M-62AT bombs). The "Foxbat-F" carried the Kh-58U variant of the "Kilter." It was built primarily of titanium and was designed to resist kinetic heating of 400 to 500°C. The maximum Mach number with missiles was restricted to 2.38. During their operational conversion, the pilots followed the Reconnaissance Aviation Combat Training Course (Kurs Boyevoy Podgotovki Razvedyvatel'noy Aviatsii) to which the specificities of the MiG-25BM employment were added. Kh-58 "without suffix" training missiles were proposed for the initial training, because of a shortage of Kh-58U. However, the Kh-58 also employed by other aircraft types such as the Su-24 were limited to a speed not exceeding Mach 1.5 and therefore they could not be used for training.

MiG-25BM MiG-25BM The MiG-25BM would have penetrated enemy air defences essentially without entering their lethal zone. Besides, if it had been necessary to attack NATO, targets would have been close to the front line. Thus, the approach to enemy territory would have been flown over friendly lines. Also, takeoffs and landings were protected by fighter aircraft. Following a reconnaissance mission over the potential targets, relevant data were entered into the different systems of the MiG-25BM such as the Peleng navigation complex. The transit flight to the target area was achieved at high altitude to a range of 200 to 60 km from the target (200 km was considered the maximum acceptable operational range, although successful firing were achieved at a range of 300 km from the target during tests with the Kh-58U variant. However, there was the risk that the missiles' nickel-cadmium batteries would run down before reaching the target when firing from such a long range). The target could be locked on from ranges up to 400 km.

MiG-25BM Décollage de Werneuchen du MiG-25BM n°76. © MLM.

MiG-25BM n°76 taking off from Werneuchen. © MLM.
The missile seeker existed in four different versions, adapted to different radar frequency bands; moreover, they were not vulnerable to electronic countermeasures. Each missile could be programmed separately so it was possible to carry missiles with different seekers simultaneously. The Sych-M system detected active radars and selected their signals for input into the missile control system. The missiles were attached to AKU-58 (Aviatsionnaya Katapul'tnaya Ustanovka or literally aerial ejection unit) launch rails under the wing pylons. When fired, the Kh-58U missiles initially were separated from the aircraft by two extendable arms integrated into the AKU-58 and powered by compressed air. Thus, damage to the carrier aircraft was avoided when the missile engine was ignited and, above all, the risk of a reactor stall through gaz ingestion was eliminated. The missile was launched at about Mach 2.35 maximum from an altitude between 17,000 and 21,000 meters. The rocket engine provided 6 tons of thrust lasting 3.6 seconds, while the missile accelerated either upwards or in a downwards dive depending on the range to the target. The thrust was then autonomously reduced simply by burning solid propellant of a different caliber in a smaller combustion chamber, providing a sustained thrust of 1 ton for 15 seconds.

Kh-58 The Yaguar had several operating modes. Thus, when the target coordinates were known, the PRGS-58M seeker aimed at the programmed coordinates; on the other hand, it locked onto the selected radar when the latter was active. Should the radar emissions be interrupted after locking onto the target, the Kh-58U, a "Fire and Forget" weapon, nevertheless hit its target because it could store in memory the last recorded target coordinates for 15 seconds. The "Kilter" was autonomous after firing, making it possible for the pilot to maneuver or turn around. The final dive to the target occured at an angle of 45°. The 149 kg missile warhead, including 58.5 kg of explosives (3), exploded up to five meters above the target or at impact.

MiG-25BM MiG-25BM squadrons regularly went to Akhtubinsk to conduct live fire exercises. Missiles always hit their target, even when the Blesna (Bait) simulators replicating Hawk, Improved Hawk or Nike Hercules battery radar signals were turned off - but, of course, none of this took place on a real theater of operations. Some MiG-25BM from Werneuchen were observed with small red stars painted on the upper part of their left engine air intakes, the latter symbolizing successful missile firings. Also, an annual bombing campaign took place on the Luninets Bombing Range in Belarus. The 931.OGRAP and its aircraft would soon bear the brunt of the unilateral disarmament policy initiated by Moscow and upheavals in Europe in the late eighties. Thus, dismantling of the 931.OGRAP squadron by squadron began with the Yak-28PP of the 2.AE that departed Werneuchen in July 1989 to join the 118.OAPREB (Otdel'nyy Aviatsionnyy Polk Radioelektronnoy Bor'bi - Separate Electronic Warfare Aviation Regiment) at Chortkov airfield in Ukraine.

MiG-25BM In July 1990, the MiG-25BM were repatriated to Shchuchin where they were assigned to the third squadron of the local 151.OAPREB, along with the former MiG-25BM of the 164.OGRAP (assigned to the first squadron - the second squadron was flying on Yak-28PP) withdrawn from Brzeg in Poland a year earlier, in August 1989. Thus, all the MiG-25BM combat units (a handful of aircraft went through Akhtubinsk, Lipetsk and Zhukovskiy) were consolidated in Shchuchin, where the 10.ORAP also was based, with the three squadrons equipped with MiG-25RB, Su-24MR and MiG-25BM, respectively. All MiG-25BM were eventually sent to the Baranovichi Maintenance Center where they were destroyed between 1992 and 1995 in the framework of agreements on the reduction of conventional forces in Europe (CFE Treaty) (4).
An aircraft (n°44) was at Zaporozh'ye to undergo modifications. It survived there to this day (2013). Another known survivor is former n°78 of the 931.OGRAP preserved at the Borovaya Museum in Belarus > LINK. A third aircraft (n°43) is preserved in the museum at an airbase located in the North Caucasus > LINK.

Kh-58

notes

(1) The existence of two different article numbers for a single aircraft type can be explained by the culture of secrecy and the use of different numbers by the manufacturer and the VVS. The MiG-25R also had two different article numbers: 02 and 55.
(2) The Kh-58 was declared fit for service in the early eighties. Its maximum range was 120 km. The Kh-58U was the next variant and it became operational with the MiG-25BM in the mid-eighties. This version, equipped with a modified seeker and having its maximum range increased to 250 km, was developed to be carried by other aircraft types such as the Su-17M3 and M4 that had to use a V'yuga-14 external pod in order to designate targets. The Su-24 and Su-24M also used this missile in conjunction with a Fantasmagoriya designation pod. The latter was available in different variants depending on the radar frequency bands to be covered. The speed of the Su-17 and Su-24 armed with two Kh-58 missiles was limited to a maximum of Mach 1.5. The missile firing envelope was very different with these other aircraft compared to the MiG-25BM. Missiles were employed from the latter from a minimum altitude of 17,000 meters to increase their range and the target acquisition distance. The missile range was 40 km when fired from 200 meters above sea level, 70 km fom 5,000 meters and 100 km from 10,000 meters. The missile also was compatible with other aircraft types that are beyond the scope of this Web site.
The "Kilter" ARM was diversly appreciated by Western intelligence services that feared that it could have been used as an anti-AWACS weapon!
(3) Kh-58 missiles also could be armed with a TK-57-08 nuclear warhead. Were such weapons stored at Werneuchen?
(4) According to Anatoliy Karavan, a former 931.OGRAP pilot who also took part in the MiG-25BM elimination, no aircraft of this type were ever delivered abroad. Contrary to the assertions of some Western publications and until proven otherwise, MiG-25BM were never delivered to Iraq.


931.OGRAP  < Part 1 < Part 2

previous Plan du site - Sitemap next

THIS PAGE IN ENGLISH HERE

Yak-28PP 2.AE Le 931.OGRAP a connu une mutation importante en 1986. Il était alors composé de deux escadrons, le premier volant sur différentes variantes du MiG-25RB et le second sur Yak-28R. Mais en juin, les Yak-28R furent envoyés à Welzow où ils rejoignirent ceux du 11.ORAP local en vue de leur retrait d'Allemagne. Les derniers Yak-28R présents en ex-RDA quittèrent Welzow le 2 juillet 1986. Toujours en juin, les Yak-28PP du troisième escadron du 11.ORAP quittèrent quant à eux Welzow pour rejoindre Werneuchen où ils reconstituèrent le second escadron du 931.OGRAP. Ainsi, cette unité devint de fait un régiment mixte de reconnaissance et de guerre électronique (pour une description des Yak-28PP, se reporter à la première page consacrée au 11.ORAP). De plus, le 931.OGRAP allait voir s'adjoindre un troisième escadron de guerre électronique, prenant en charge au cours des semaines suivantes, douze MiG-25BM - dont certains figurant parmi les derniers construits - et trois MiG-25RU, les ultimes appareils de l'escadron se posant à Werneuchen fin 1986.

MiG-25BM MiG-25BM Les MiG-25BM(Bombardirovchtchik Modifikatsirovaniy - Bombardier Modifié) "Foxbat-F" étaient les seuls appareils dont disposait directement la 16.VA, spécifiquement dévolus à la détection et à la destruction des sites radars et des batteries de missiles sol-air, ainsi que des postes de commandement enterrés. Pour des raisons à la fois logistiques et de conversion opérationnelle, ces appareils furent affectés aux diverses unités de reconnaissance équipées de MiG-25. De plus, les escadrons de reconnaissance de ces régiments fournissaient les informations nécessaires quant aux objectifs à traiter par les MiG-25BM. Un escadron de MiG-25BM était également basé à Brzeg en Pologne, où il opérait au sein du 164.OGRAP, tandis qu'un troisième et dernier escadron volait au sein du 10.ORAP à Chtchoutchine en Biélorussie. Soulignons toutefois que les missions de type SEAD (Suppression of Enemy Air Defences) n'étaient pas nouvelles et ne reposaient pas uniquement sur les épaules des MiG-25BM. Tout d'abord, les Su-17M2 et M3 (et certains Su-17M modernisés) ainsi que les Su-24 pouvaient tirer des missiles anti-radar Kh-28 (AS-9 "Kyle"). Les Su-17M2/M3 devaient emporter un pod de désignation Metel'-A (Blizzard) et les Su-24 un conteneur Filin-N (Chouette) plus tard monté en interne. Ensuite, les MiG-27D/M/K, les Su-17M3 et M4 de même que les Su-24M emportèrent des missiles anti-radar Kh-25MP et Kh-27PS (AS-12 "Kegler" - désignation identique pour ces deux missiles). Les MiG-27D/M/K et les Su-17M3/M4 devaient utiliser un conteneur de désignaion externe V'youga (Tempête de neige) et les Su-24M un conteneur Fantasmagoriya (Fantasmagorie) afin d'être en mesure de tirer ces armements.

C/N MiG-25RU Développé à partir de 1976, sur base de la version de reconnaissance et de bombardement du “Foxbat” (une cellule de MiG-25RBV "Foxbat-B" fut convertie en banc d'essai) et produit entre 1982 et 1986 à Gorki en seulement une quarantaine d'exemplaires, le MiG-25RBM alias Article 02M ou 66 (1) - désigné MiG-25BM en unité - avait été conçu en vue de mettre en oeuvre le missile anti-radar Kh-58 (AS-11 "Kilter") (2). Comme équipements internes spécifiques, le MiG-25BM embarquait une chaîne très complète de moyens de détection et de contre-mesures électroniques baptisée Yaguar (Jaguar), laquelle avait nécessité un allongement du nez de 20 cm. Celle-ci comprenait un système de contrôle et de désignation d'objectifs Sytch-M (Hibou), un complexe de brouillage électronique actif SPS-151 OJ Siren-1D-OJ (Lilas) et un module passif générateur de bruit SPS-135 Lyoutik (Renoncule), ceux-ci assurant le brouillage des radars de défense terrestres et enfin un détecteur d'alerte et de localisation radar SPO-15LM Bereza-LM (Bouleau) qui prévenait le pilote lorsqu'il était pris pour cible par un radar terrestre ou aérien. De plus, selon la philosophie soviétique, les têtes chercheuses modifiées PRGS-58M (Passivnaya Radiolokatsionnaya Golovka Samonavedeniya - guidage radar passif) des missiles faisaient partie intégrante de ce système d'armes. Le complexe "Jaguar" fonctionnait en conjonction avec la suite de navigation modifiée Peleng-2M adaptée à la programmation des paramètres nécessaires aux missiles anti-radar. De surcroît, les avions étaient équipés du système ELINT Tangaj leur permettant de remplir également des tâches de reconnaissance électronique notamment le long de la frontière interallemande. Afin de tenter de masquer la véritable nature de ces appareils, le nez des MiG-25BM était recouvert d'une peinture gris foncé destinée à leur donner l'apparence d'intercepteurs, impression que leurs quatre pylônes alaires tendait à renforcer. Le MiG-25BM pouvait emporter jusqu'à quatre missiles anti-radar sous ses ailes (lors de la conception, seulement deux missiles avaient été prévus) ou une combinaison de missiles et de bombes (jusque huit bombes FAB-500M-62AT). Le nombre de Mach maximal avec les missiles était limité à 2,38. C'est la variante Kh-58U du "Kilter" qui était emportée par les "Foxbat-F." Celle-ci était construite essentiellement en titane et elle avait été conçue afin de pouvoir résister à un échauffement cinétique de l'ordre de 400 à 500°C. Les pilotes sélectionnés pour voler sur "Foxbat-F" suivaient le Cours d'emploiement au combat de l'aviation de reconnaissance (Kours Boyevoy Podgotovki Razvedyvatel'noy Aviatsii) auquel s'ajoutaient les spécificités relatives au MiG-25BM. Lors des premières formations, ce sont des Kh-58 "sans suffixe" d'entraînement qui furent proposés en raison d'une pénurie de Kh-58U. Cependant, ces Kh-58 utilisés par d'autres types d'appareils comme le Su-24 étaient limités à une vitesse inférieure à Mach 1,5 et par conséquent, ils ne purent pas être utilisés pour l'entraînement.

MiG-25BM MiG-25BM Les MiG-25BM devaient pénétrer les défenses anti-aériennes adverses essentiellement sans entrer dans leur zone létale. D'ailleurs, si il avait été nécessaire d'attaquer l'OTAN, les objectifs auraient été proches de la ligne de front. Ainsi, l'approche du territoire ennemi se serait faite au-dessus des lignes amies. Aussi, décollages et atterrissages étaient protégés par l'aviation de chasse. A l'issue d'une reconnaissance dans la zone à traiter, les données adéquates étaient entrées dans les différents systèmes des MiG-25BM comme par exemple le complexe de navigation Peleng. Le vol de transit vers les cibles était accompli à haute altitude, jusqu'à une distance de 200 à 60 kilomètres des objectifs (200 km étaient considérés comme étant la distance opérationnelle maximale acceptable, bien que des tirs furent réussis jusque 300 km lors des essais avec la variante Kh-58U. Cependant, tirer d'aussi loin, c'était courir le risque de mettre à plat les batteries au cadmium-nickel du missile avant que ce dernier ne puisse atteindre sa cible). Le verrouillage de l'objectif était possible jusqu'à une distance de 400 km.

MiG-25BM Décollage de Werneuchen du MiG-25BM n°76. © MLM.

MiG-25BM n°76 taking off from Werneuchen. © MLM.
Les têtes des missiles existaient en quatre versions différentes, adaptées aux fréquences radar à traiter et elles étaient de plus insensibles aux contre-mesures électroniques. Chacune étant programmée séparément, l'emport simultané de plusieurs variantes était possible. Le système Sytch-M permettait de détecter les radars actifs et de sélectionner leurs signaux, relayant ainsi les données concernant les cibles sélectionnées vers les missiles. Ces derniers étaient attachés à des adaptateurs AKU-58 (Aviatsionnaya Katapoul'tnaya Oustanovka ou littéralement système aérien d'éjection) fixés sous les pylônes alaires. Au moment du tir, les missiles Kh-58U étaient d'abord écartés de l'avion par deux bras déployables intégrés aux AKU-58, à l'aide d'air comprimé. Ainsi, on évitait des dégâts à l'avion porteur au moment de l'allumage du moteur du missile et surtout, le risque de décrochage d'un réacteur suite à l'ingestion de gaz lors du tir, était éliminé. Le lancement s'effectuait aux environs de Mach 2,35 maximum depuis une altitude comprise entre 17.000 et 21.000 mètres. Le moteur fusée fournissait une poussée de 6 tonnes pendant 3,6 secondes, tandis que le missile accélérait en montée ou au contraire en piqué en fonction de la distance à laquelle ils avait été tiré. Ensuite, la propulsion passait en mode "économique" lorsque la poussée diminuait simplement en brûlant du propergol solide d'un calibre différent dans une chambre de combustion plus petite. La poussée n'était plus que de 1 tonne pendant 15 secondes.

Kh-58 Le complexe Yaguar fonctionnait selon plusieurs modes. Ainsi, lorsque les coordonnées de la cible étaient connues, la tête PRGS-58M visait les coordonnées programmées mais elle se verrouillait sur le radar visé si ce dernier était actif. Si les émissions de ce dernier cessaient après qu'il ait été verrouillé, les Kh-58U, de type "Fire and Forget" (Tire et Oublie) atteignaient quand même leur objectif car ils pouvaient garder en mémoire pendant 15 secondes les dernières coordonnées enregistrées. Les "Kilter" devenaient autonomes après le tir, ce qui rendait le pilote libre de manoeuvrer ou de faire demi-tour. Le piqué final vers l'objectif avait lieu sous un angle de 45°. La charge de 149 kg dont 58,5 kg d'explosifs (3) des missiles explosait jusqu'à cinq mètres au-dessus de leur cible ou à l'impact.

MiG-25BM Les escadrons de MiG-25BM se rendaient régulièrement à Akhtoubinsk pour y effectuer des tirs réels. Les missiles atteignaient toujours leur cible, même lorsque les simulateurs Blesna (Appât) dupliquant les signaux radar des batteries Hawk, Improved Hawk ou Nike Hercules étaient éteints - mais bien sûr, tout cela ne se déroulait pas sur un théâtre d'opération réel. Quelques MiG-25BM vus à Werneuchen arboraient d'ailleurs sur la partie supérieure de leur manche à air réacteur gauche de petites rangées d’étoiles rouges symbolisant les tirs réussis. D'autre part, une campagne de bombardement annuelle se tenait également sur le polygone de Louninets en Biélorussie.
Le 931.OGRAP et ses avions allaient rapidement faire les frais de la politique de désarmement unilatérale engagée par Moscou et des bouleversements intervenus en Europe à la fin des années quatre-vingt.

MiG-25BM Le démantèlement du 931.OGRAP escadron par escadron commença avec les Yak-28PP du 2.AE qui quittèrent Werneuchen en juillet 1989 pour rejoindre le 118.OAPREB (Otdel'niy Aviatsionniy Polk Radioelektronnoï Bor'bi - Régiment autonome d'aviation de guerre électronique) sur l'aérodrome de Tchortkov en Ukraine. En juillet 1990, les MiG-25BM furent rapatriés à Chtchoutchine (Biélorussie) où ils furent attribués au troisième escadron du 151.OAPREB. Ce dernier régiment avait quitté son ancienne base située à Brzeg en Pologne un an plus tôt au mois d'août 1989. Le premier escadron était composé des anciens MiG-25BM du 164.OGRAP (également originaires de Brzeg), tandis que le second escadron était équipé de Yak-28PP. Ainsi, tous les MiG-25BM des unités de combat (une poignée d'exemplaires sont passés par Akhtoubinsk, Lipetsk et Joukovskiy) se sont retrouvés à Chtchoutchine, où était également stationné le 10.ORAP dont les trois escadrons étaient alors respectivement équipés de MiG-25RB, Su-24MR et MiG-25BM. Tous les MiG-25BM ont finalement été envoyés au centre de maintenance de Baranovichi, où ils furent détruits entre 1992 et 1995 dans le cadre des accords sur la réduction des armements conventionnels en Europe (traité CFE) (4).
Un exemplaire (n°44) était à Zaporojié afin d'y subir des modifications. Il y a survécu jusqu'à nos jours (2013). Un autre survivant connu est l'ancien n°78 du 931.OGRAP qui est préservé au musée de Borovaya au Belarus > LIEN. Une troisième machine (n°43) est préservée dans le musée d'une base aérienne du Nord Causase > LIEN.

Kh-58

notes

(1) L'existence de deux numéros d'article pour un seul type d'appareil s'explique par la culture du secret et l'utilisation de numéros différents par le constructeur et les VVS. Le MiG-25R avait également deux numéros d'article différents : 02 et 55.
(2) Le Kh-58 aurait été déclaré bon pour le service au début des années quatre-vingt. Sa portée maximale était de 120 km. C'est cependant la variante suivante, le Kh-58U qui est réellement devenue opérationnelle avec les MiG-25BM au milieu des années quatre-vingt. Disposant d'une tête modifiée et d'une portée maximale augmentée à 250 km, cette version fut développée afin de pouvoir être emportée par d'autres types d'appareils comme les Su-17M3 et M4 qui devaient utiliser un conteneur externe V'youga-14 afin de pouvoir désigner leurs objectifs. Les Su-24 et Su-24M utilisaient également ce missile en complément avec un pod Fantasmagoriya disponible en différentes variantes selon les radars à traiter. La vitesse des Su-17 et Su-24 armés de deux Kh-58 au maximum était limitée à Mach 1,5. La plage de tir du missile avec ces vecteurs était très différente de celle des MiG-25BM qui lançaient leurs missiles depuis l'altitude minimale de 17.000 mètres afin d'accroître leur portée ainsi que la distance d'acquisition des cibles. La portée du missile était de 40 km quand il était largué à 200 mètres d'altitude, 70 km à 5000 m et 100 km à 10.000 m. Le missile était également compatible avec d'autres appareils qui sortent du cadre de ce site.
Le "Kilter" a été très diversement apprécié par les services de renseignement occidentaux, faisant même craindre l'utilisation de ce dernier en tant qu'arme anti-AWACS !
(3) Il existait également des missiles Kh-58 armés d'une charge nucléaire TK-57-08. Y en avait-il à Werneuchen ?
(4) D'après Anatoly Karavan, ancien pilote du 931.OGRAP qui a également participé à la liquidation des MiG-25BM, aucun appareil de ce type n'a jamais été livré à l'étranger. Contrairement à ce qui est affirmé dans certains articles occidentaux et jusqu'à preuve du contraire, il n'y a donc jamais eu de MiG-25BM en Irak.


931.OGRAP  < Part 1 < Part 2

previous Plan du site - Sitemap next