Electronic intelligence

Mi-8MT Mi-8MT A handful of helicopters of the 239.OGVP from Oranienburg (1), a unit which was directly subordinated to the 16.VA headquarter, had been made available for the Ministeriums für Staatssicherheit (Ministry for State Security, better known as Stasi) for electronic and photographic intelligence missions code named RELAIS II, between 1983 and 1989. These helicopters were carrying multiband receivers, of which the antennas were located on the right side of the forward fuselage. Whereas the crew was Soviet, the personnel in the cargo hold was East German. The latter was composed of an interpreter, a photographer and two radio operators. Spy flights took off from Oranienburg, a base situated a few kilometres north of the French occupation zone, and followed the West-Berlin borders in a clockwise direction. Data about the Allied communications systems were collected and various military communication and listening equiments were photographed as well from the rear cabin window.

Gazelle A video camera mounted on a stabilised platform, was sometimes used to identify more easily the places where photographs had been taken. It was also a good means to estimate the position of the antennas observed during the flight. A typical flight lasted 100 minutes at an altitude of 100 meters at a flying speed of 110 km/h on average. When necessary, the helicopter could climb to 200-300 meters and fly at a lower speed to photograph some targets. Some electronic intelligence gathering could require a climb up to 1600 meters. The informations collected by the East German agents were of course shared with their Soviet counterparts, the KGB (2). The Mi-8 were sometimes "escorted" by Allied aircraft or helicopters based at Tempelhof (Bell UH-1H and possibly Pilatus UV-20A - Berlin Avn. Det.) or at Gatow (Gazelle AH.1 - 7 Flight AAC, DHC Chipmunk T.10 - RAF Gatow Station Flight). We ignore if Alouette III, Cessna L19E (DETALAT) or the MH-1521M Broussard and later the single DHC-6 Twin Otter (Armée de l'Air) of the French forces based at Tegel made such encounters.

Marienfelde RAF Gatow

Spy games

Mi-8 Les consoles des opérateurs est-allemands à bord d'un Mi-8 du 239.OGVP lors d'une mission "RELAIS" le long des frontières de Berlin-Ouest. © V.Liebscher.

East German operators aboard a Mi-8 of the 239.OGVP during a "RELAIS" mission along the West-Berlin borders. © V.Liebscher.
Mi-8TV The Berlin Control Zone (BCZ) was established by the four occupying powers after the end of WWII. The BCZ was a transit area for the aircraft flying throught the three air corridors (north-A, center-B and south-C) linking West-Berlin to the so-called free world. Any American, British, French, or Soviet aircraft could theorically fly through that area. West-Berlin was however off limits for the Soviet aircraft and helicopters (at least under 3000 meters) (3) because it was considered as a sovereign entity like the FRG. That is the reason why the ELINT/PHOTINT Mi-8 were flying along its borders rather than directly over the different targets. In case of an emergency landing on the wrong side of the border and in order to try to avoid any diplomatic incident, the East German agents did not carry any official documents with them and they had been briefed to remain aboard the helicopter. Notes taken during the flight, were written on water dissolvable paper and a water container was carried onboard for that purpose. However, documents like flight plans couldn't be destroyed as well as the electronic equipement and consequently, it would have been difficult to deny the real nature of the mission.

Alouette III BCZ The Berlin Control Zone was a circular area with a radius of 20 miles and a ceiling of 3000 meters. Its center was situated at Kleistpark, north of Tempelhof, in the former building of the Allied Control Authorities. As mentioned earlier, the BCZ was connected to the three air corridors of West-Berlin. Soviet and East German aircraft could cross freely these corridors. The Allied aircraft could fly through them and inside the BCZ itself. The helicopters however couldn't fly outside the limits of West-Berlin itself.
Quite a lot of East German and Soviet military installations were located inside the BCZ, which covered East-Berlin and its surroundings - including Oranienburg and Werneuchen airbases - and the three air corridors.

BCZ Chipmunk Largely unknown during the Cold War and almost unbelievable, the Allied aircraft based in Berlin flying with agents of the Military Liaison Missions to the Soviet Supreme High Command in Germany aboard, could therefore overfly and photograph these targets. They were sometimes disturbed during their "work" by lighting rockets or fighters crossing their path. Moreover, discreet Allied electronic and photographic intelligence aircraft could fly through the Berlin air corridors. The French flew regularly with Nord N2501 Gabriel - replaced by two C160 Gabriel in 1989 - of the EE.54 based at Metz along the German and the Czechoslovak borders and inside the Berlin corridors. They landed at Berlin-Tegel before heading back home through a different corridor. "Baltic" missions implied a fly through the north corridor after the take off from Tegel in order to join the Baltic Sea. They flew up to the Polish border before flying back home to Metz via a stop over at Tegel. They were sometimes interecepted by Soviet or Swedish fighters above the Baltic Sea.

UH-1H L-19 The Americans were flying specially equipped C-130E of the 7405.OS from Rhein-Main during the eighties (radio call signs "Ask" and "Herky"). Beside the intelligence flights inside the air corridors themselves, they were the only one to venture above the BCZ with such aircraft. According to ATC controllers, they even overflew the international civil airport of Berlin-Schönefeld and its trafic at 1500 feet. Moreover, these flights had priority over the western civilian trafic. The British flew photo reconnaissance missions inside the corridors and above the BCZ with venerable Percival Pembrokes. If Military Liaison Missions were disbanded in 1990-91, the collection of informations about the new Russian army continued through by other services in Germany. Flying rules changed also after the German unification. The Allied aircraft could now fly through the BCZ and inside the area located between the north and the south Berlin air corridors, whereas the helicopter flights were authorized inside the whole area. However, the new official limits seemed much harder to respect by the Allied pilots who made quite a lot of "navigational errors" and overflew off-limits military installations! However, the Russians did not seem to complain but it is true that the die was cast. In fact, the real new limit was the aircraft and helicopter range: they were not allowed to land on a former East-German base to refuel.

Werder Il-20M Werneuchen

Berlin corridors > An analyse of the picture at right can be consulted here
> The Berlin Control Zone
> The Berlin for Lunch Bunch
> The Berlin for Lunch Bunch homepage
> Cold War airborne spying missions
> Status of aerial reconnaissance in 1960: Download here
> Allied Military Liaison Missions: see Links and Military Liaison Mission Stories

- Most of the information about the Mi-8 ELINT missions over Berlin come from the book of Volker Liebscher "RELAIS".
   See > Multimedia.
- With special thanks to Eric Cartigny and Claude Pico for the detailed informations about the BCZ.
- Look at the BCZ and the Berlin air corridors on Google Earth: download the file entitled "Luftraum Berlin und DDR 198x".
  Choose carefully your options if you don't want to be overwhelmed with information.

 TARGET: IRON CURTAIN
 THE HUNTING PEMBROKES
 GABRIEL OVER GERMANY
 SAFETY OF FLIGHT NOT GARANTEED
 THE "AIR RECCE" OF THE FMLM
 OPERATION LARKSPUR
 BERLIN CORRIDORS SPYPLANES PHOTO PAGE
notes

Su-7 Un Su-7 au-dessus de Berlin-Ouest le 7 avril 1965. © Flight.

A Su-7 over West-Berlin on 7 April 1965. © Flight.
(1) Known numbers:
      Mi-8T '16'
      Mi-8MT '34' c/n 93350, '40', '49' c/n 93344
(2) Komitet Gossudarstvennoï Bezopasnosti, Committee for State Security.
(3) - On 7 April 1965, the German Parliament (Bundestag) held its meeting in the West-Berlin Congress Hall despite protests from Soviet and East German authorities. Among other disturbance actions, Soviet fighters overflew West-Berlin at low level during the whole day.
Video to download > HERE + LINK.
. - During the Summer of 1981, Mi-8 of the 239.OGVP flew above the approaches of Berlin-Tegel in order to deny the landing of a LOT (Polish airlines) An-24 escaping to the West. The latter finally landed at Tempelhof.
- Soviet aircrafts and helicopters operating from the airfields situated inside the BCZ (Oranienburg and Werneuchen) banked after take off to exit the zone. The Berlin-Frohnau sector was regulartly overflown by MiG-25 taking off from Werneuchen, probably above the BCZ ceiling.


previous Plan du site - Sitemap next

THIS PAGE IN ENGLISH HERE

Ecoute électronique

Mi-8MT Mi-8MTUne poignée d'hélicoptères du 239.OGVP d'Oranienburg (1), une unité directement subordonnée au commandement de l'état-major de la 16.VA, avait été mise à disposition du Ministeriums für Staatssicherheit (MfS - Ministère pour la Sécurité de l'Etat, mieux connu sous l'acronyme de Stasi) dans le cadre des opérations portant le nom de code RELAIS II entre 1983 et 1989. Ces appareils étaient équipés de divers appareillages d'écoute radio multi-bandes dont les antennes étaient situées sur le flanc avant droit des machines concernées. Si l'équipage était soviétique, le personnel en soute était allemand et composé d'un interprète, d'un photographe et de deux opérateurs radio. Les vols de renseignement consistaient à effectuer au départ d'Oranienburg, une base située quelques kilomètres au nord de la zone d'occupation française de Berlin, un parcours tout autour des frontières de Berlin-Ouest, dans le sens des aiguilles d'une montre. Outre le renseignement électronique, ces vols offraient également l'opportunité de photographier par le hublot arrière droit les installations alliées sensibles, telles que les casernements ou encore les antennes d'écoute ou de communication.

Gazelle Une caméra video montée sur une plateforme stabilisée était parfois utilisée. Le visionnage du film obtenu permettait de resituer les différentes photos prises pendant le vol, ainsi que le positionnement des antennes observées. Un vol typique durait environ 100 minutes à une altitude moyenne de 100 mètres et à une vitesse de 110 km/h. Lorsque des objectifs à photographier l'exigeaient, l'hélicoptère montait jusque 200 à 300 mètres d'altitude et volait à vitesse réduite. Néanmoins, le schéma de vol n'était pas figé et certaines mesures pouvaient exiger de monter jusqu'à 1600 mètres. Les informations recueillies par les agents allemands étaient bien entendu partagées avec les services de renseignement soviétiques, c'est-à-dire le KGB (2). Les Mi-8 faisaient parfois l'objet d'une escorte en bonne et due forme par certains appareils alliés basés à Tempelhof (Bell UH-1H et peut-être Pilatus UV-20A - Berlin Avn. Det.) ou à Gatow (Gazelle AH.1 - 7 Flight AAC, DHC Chipmunk T.10 - RAF Gatow Station Flight). Nous ignorons si des Alouette III, des Cessna L-19E (DETALAT) ou les MH 1521M Broussard puis le DHC-6 Twin Otter (Armée de l'air) du contingent français stationné à Tegel connurent de telles rencontres.

Marienfelde RAF Gatow

Jeux d'espions

Mi-8 Les consoles des opérateurs est-allemands à bord d'un Mi-8 du 239.OGVP lors d'une mission "RELAIS" le long des frontières de Berlin-Ouest. © V.Liebscher.

East German operators aboard a Mi-8 of the 239.OGVP during a "RELAIS" mission along the West-Berlin borders. © V.Liebscher.
Mi-8TV Etablie après la fin de la Seconde Guerre Mondiale par les quatre puissances occupantes, la Zone de Contrôle de Berlin (Berlin Control Zone - BCZ) fut créée afin de permettre d'intégrer les circuits d'attente des aéronefs alliés venants de RFA par les trois corridors (nord-A, centre-B et sud-C) reliant Berlin-Ouest au monde dit libre, ainsi que pour permettre l'entraînement des équipages alliés stationnés à Berlin. Elle était théoriquement accessible à tout appareil américain, anglais, français ou soviétique. Berlin-Ouest ayant le même statut souverain que la RFA, elle ne pouvait être survolée (3), du moins en-dessous de 3000 mètres, par les appareils miltaires soviétiques, raison pour laquelle les Mi-8 de renseignement opéraient le long de la frontière. Afin d'éviter tout incident diplomatique en cas d'atterrissage forcé du mauvais côté de cette dernière, les agents allemands n'emportaient aucun document officiel et avaient pour consigne de rester à bord du Mi-8. Certains documents comme les notes prises en vol, étaient consignées sur du papier soluble dans l'eau, d'où la présence d'un récipient ad hoc en soute! Toutefois, les plans de vol - non solubles... - ou les équipements d'écoute transportés n'auraient trompé personne.

Alouette III BCZ La Zone de Contrôle de Berlin se présentait sous la forme d'un espace aérien ayant un diamètre de 64 km et une hauteur de 3000 mètres, dont le centre se trouvait à Kleistpark au nord de Tempelhof, dans l'ancien bâtiment des Autorités de Contrôle Alliées. Comme précisé plus haut, la BCZ était connectée aux trois corridors aériens de Berlin-Ouest. Les appareils soviétiques de même que ceux des LSK/LV pouvaient bien entendu traverser librement ces corridors. Les avions des trois puissances occupantes occidentales quant à eux, avaient le droit de libre cirulation dans les couloirs - sous réserve d'un dépôt de plan de vol - et à l'intérieur de la BCZ elle-même. Le vol des hélicoptères était cependant limité au survol de Berlin-Ouest intra muros, l'accès aux couloirs n'étant pas autorisé.

BCZ Chipmunk La BCZ - qui couvrait Berlin-Est et ses abords dont les bases aériennes d'Oranienburg et de Werneuchen en limite de zone - de même que les couloirs aériens, foisonnaient de garnisons soviétiques et est-allemandes. Chose extraordinaire, les appareils alliés de Berlin avec des agents, officiers ou sous-officiers, des Missions Militaires de Liaison près du Haut Commandement Soviétique en Allemagne à leur bord, pouvaient ainsi survoler ces objectifs et les photographier. Ils faisaient parfois l'objet d'intimidations comme le tir de fusées éclairantes quand ils n'étaient pas "taquinés" par des appareils soviétiques. De plus, les couloirs aériens de Berlin étaient fréquentés par de discrets appareils de reconnaissance électronique et photographique alliés. Avant la chute du mur, les Français utilisaient des Nord N2501 Gabriel (remplacés par deux C160 Gabriel en 1989) de l'EE.54 basé à Metz; outre des missions le long de la frontière interallemande et près de la frontière tchécoslovaque, ces derniers effectuaient des vols à l'intérieur des couloirs en faisant escale à Berlin-Tegel avant de repartir en sens inverse par un autre couloir que celui emprunté à l'aller. Parfois, ils repartaient par le couloir nord pour des missions de renseignement au large de la Mer Baltique jusqu'aux abords de la Pologne avant de rentrer à Tegel, puis Metz. Au cours de ces missions dites "Baltiques", les Gabriel faisaient parfois l'objet d'interceptions par des chasseurs soviétiques ou suédois.

UH-1H L-19 Les américains utilisaient quant à eux des C-130E spécialement équipés (indicatifs Ask et Herky) du 7405.OS de Rhein-Main. Outre le survol des corridors de Berlin, ils étaient les seuls à oser explorer avec de telles machines la BCZ elle-même, allant jusqu'à survoler l'aérodrome civil international de Berlin-Schönefeld à 750 mètres d'altitude. Ces machines avaient de plus la priorité sur le trafic civil occidental. Les Britanniques, quant à eux, exécutaient des missions de reconnaissance photo à l'intérieur des couloirs et de la BCZ avec de vénérables Percival Pembrokes. La donne a changé après la chute du mur et la réunification allemande. Si les Missions militaires de liaison alliées ont cessé leurs activités, d'autres services ont continué à surveiller et à rechercher des renseignements sur la nouvelle armée russe. Les règles de circulation aérienne au-dessus de feue la RDA pour les aviations alliées locales furent également revues. Ainsi, la zone accessible fut élargie aux contours de la BCZ et aux bords extérieurs des corridors A et C en englobant tout le territoire situé entre les deux, et le vol des hélicoptères fut dès lors autorisé dans toute la zone. Mais en pratique, ces limites officielles furent allègrement bafouées par les aviations alliées qui commirent de nombreuses "erreurs de navigation" ! Pourtant, les Russes ne semblent pas avoir exprimé de plaintes. Mais il est vrai que les dés étaient jetés. C'est comme cela que les nouvelles limites véritables furent fixées par le rayon d'action des machines, sachant que ces dernières ne pouvaient pas se poser sur les anciennes bases est-allemandes pour se ravitailler.

Werder Il-20M Werneuchen

Berlin corridors > Une analyse de la photo ci-contre à droite peut être consultée ici
> La zone de contrôle de Berlin
> The Berlin for Lunch Bunch
> The Berlin for Lunch Bunch homepage
> Cold War airborne spying missions
> Status of aerial reconnaissance in 1960 : Télécharger ici
> Missions Militaires de Liaison alliées : voir liens et Missions Militaires de Liaison : récits

- L'essentiel des informations sur les missions ELINT des Mi-8 proviennent du livre de Volker Liebscher "RELAIS". Voir > Multimedia.
- Avec tous mes remerciements à Eric Cartigny et Claude Pico pour les renseignements détaillés concernant la BCZ.
- Visualisez la BCZ et les couloirs aériens de Berlin sur Google Earth en téléchargeant le fichier "Luftraum Berlin und DDR 198x".
  Choisissez bien vos options pour ne pas être submergés d'informations.

 TARGET: IRON CURTAIN
 DES PEMBROKES INDISCRETS
 GABRIEL SUR L'ALLEMAGNE
 SECURITE DES VOLS NON GARANTIE
 LES "RECO AIR" DE LA MMFL
 OPERATION LARKSPUR
 PAGE PHOTO : AVIONS ESPIONS
 DANS LES COULOIRS DE BERLIN
notes

Su-7 Un Su-7 au-dessus de Berlin-Ouest le 7 avril 1965. © Flight.

A Su-7 over West-Berlin on 7 April 1965. © Flight.
(1) Les numéros connus sont :
      Mi-8T '16'
      Mi-8MT '34' c/n 93350, '40', '49' c/n 93344
(2) Komitet Gossoudarstvennoï Bezopasnosti, Comité pour la sécurité de l'Etat.
(3) - Le 7 avril 1965, le Parlement allemand (Bundestag) s'est réuni au Hall des congrès à Berlin-Ouest en dépit des protestations soviétiques et est-allemandes. Entre autres actions de nuisances, des chasseurs soviétiques survolèrent à basse altitude Berlin-Ouest toute la journée - video à télécharger > ICI + LIEN.
- Durant l'été 1981, des Mi-8 du 239.OGVP survolèrent les approches de l'aéroport de Berlin-Tegel afin d'empêcher l'atterrissage d'un An-24 de la compagnie polonaise LOT qui voulait passer à l'Ouest. Ce dernier fut détourné sur Tempelhof où il se posa sans encombre.
- Les appareils soviétiques opérant depuis les aérodromes situés dans la BCZ (Werneuchen et Oranienburg) manoeuvraient pour sortir de cette dernière après leur décollage. Le secteur de Berlin-Frohnau était régulièrement survolé par les MiG-25 au décollage de Werneuchen quand ceux-ci y étaient basés. Cependant, ils devaient être probablement à l'altitude nécessaire et requise pour passer au-dessus de la BCZ au regard du taux de montée de ces appareils.


previous Plan du site - Sitemap next