Sperenberg 1V16 On one particularly hazy Saturday afternoon, we had managed to become "unsure of our position" and had flown as far as the airfield at Sperenberg which served the headquarters which we identified by the large number of transport aircraft. Once we realized our mistake we turned north back into the BCZ. Surprisingly enough there was no reaction either because the Soviets had not noticed us or they had decided to ignore us. Despite everything, the pilots very rarely got lost even though they had a fairly heavy workload having to pander to the whims of the photographers and hold the aircraft in tight balanced turns in order to obtain the best photography. However, I have heard mutterings from the back seat when you asked them to hold on 60 degrees of bank to get a better close-up. Despite our occasional forays into East German airspace, the only complaints about the Chipmunk continued to centre on Schönefeld and the alleged infringements of the arrival and departure patterns even if it could be proved that we had been nowhere near the airfield. I suspect that this was a device to let us know that we were being watched and it appeared that the more important the installation overflown, the greater the number of alleged infringements. It was fortunate that nobody appeared to notice our forays to Kagel. The normal practice would then be to fly north west to the Soviet helicopter base at Rangsdorf that housed a large repair facility. Occasionally there was a lot of activity if helicopters were being air tested. On one occasion, probably because the pilots were bored, two attack helicopters attempted to force down the Chipmunk and the aircraft only escaped by putting on 90 degrees of bank and flying between the approaching 'Hinds'. Fortunately, this sort of thing did not happen often and all we normally had on our minds was the worry that the single engine kept going.

SA-4 Train On our way back, to the south of Potsdam, there was a large army range at Glau which was overlooked by a permanent SA-4 site with its resident "Pat Hand", tracking radar on a hilltop. Here there were always largescale deployments of engineering equipment that included the normal big earth movers, pipelayers and bridging equipment as well as more exotic items for mine clearing such as tank mine ploughs and even the Soviet version of the "Bangalore Torpedo" that fired 100 metre lengths of explosive material to blast paths through minefields. Before returning to Gatow, we would normally overfly the engineer barracks at Werder where the Soviets appeared to dump all their unrepairable and obsolete equipment. In the same area to the of west of Gatow on the Berlin Ring, at certain times of the year, the East German Army would practise for their two military parades of the year in East Berlin before May Day and before the October anniversary of the East German state [founded on October 7, 1949]. We would inevitably get a preview of all the equipment that was destined to appear on the parade and occasionally glimpses of equipment that they decided, at the last minute, not to put on show. Finally, on the way back into Gatow, we would check the local ground ranges at Döberitz where there was normally tank firing. The Soviets were supposed to use low yield weapons, but judging by the noise and the amount of earth moved by the shells, I doubt if they kept to the agreement. It was always interesting to note on the approach to runway 09 that there were a great number of mock-ups of NATO equipment that were obviously for teaching recognition to new recruits. The final approach to runway 09 was also close to an East German Border Guard barracks and training area. There had been some incidents when the Border Guards had taken a shot at passing aircraft landing at Gatow including a C-130 that had had its main port fuel tanks ruptured by a Kalashnikov round. On our return to the airfield we would go through the same procedure of taxiing into the hangar before leaving the aircraft with our cameras and films. These flights went on two or three days every week for the whole time I was in BRIXMIS.

2S5 2S6 However, as part of a wider intelligence picture, it should be remembered that this operation went on for almost 35 years without any really serious incidents. There were several near disasters but on those occasions we got away with it, a case of fortune favouring the foolhardy who should have known better. The operation was so delicate that the flights had to be sanctioned by the Cabinet Office. In fact, whenever there was a change of government, the flights were suspended in case there was an incident. There is no question that the flights produced a vast wealth of intelligence material that could not have been obtained in any other way. I suspect that the Soviet hierarchy, if not actually colluding in the collection of high grade intelligence, turned a blind eye to our activities. The reason I say this is that many in the Soviet High Command had been in the Great Patriotic War and did not want to repeat the experience in any further conflict. The only way they could make sure that the West was deterred from making any pre-emptive strike against the Warsaw Pact was to show them what equipment they had. This would, they hoped, guarantee that any reckless Western politicians who possibly counted on a quick victory against the Warsaw Pact could be shown hard intelligence that proved that such a course of action would be disastrous. It would have been simplicity itself to destroy an aircraft and then make a great show of it being a tragic accident. There is no doubt that they knew exactly who and what was involved in the flights since SERB (Soviet External Relation Branch) often made oblique references to those who participated, about the Chipmunk aircraft and where it had been seen over installations both inside and allegedly outside the BCZ.

Chipmunk Chipmunk This is probably the reason that the British government allowed this operation to continue for many years, unbeknown to the British public, despite the fact that they knew that any serious incident could have proved politically damaging both domestically and internationally. However, it seems that the whole operation actively suited both sides for totally different reasons. The Chipmunk continued flying in West Berlin on these intelligence collecting trips without mishap until 1990 when the BRIXMIS was finally disbanded (1), but remained at RAF Gatow as a training aircraft until the station closed on 30 June 1994. However, this was not the end of the story of Chipmunks in Berlin. Exhibits were being acquired by the German Authorities for a new museum that would commemorate the presence of the Allied Forces in West Berlin for almost 50 years. A request was received from the Germans for one of the aircraft to be included in the exhibition, and who better to deliver it than the former Gatow QFI, Mike Neil, with whom I had flown on many occasions and who had completed two tours of duty in that role. On the last trip from RAF Laarbruch he duly took off expecting an uneventful flight to Tempelhof however, he was almost immediately recalled to be briefed that he would be met by the world's press who had just been informed about the real role of the Chipmunk in Berlin since 1956, and not only was this aircraft one of the "spy" planes but the pilot had been one of the "spy" pilots.
© Roy Marsden


Chipmunk Le Chipmunk WG478 (rouge et blanc) fut envoyé à Gatow afin d'agrémenter le Parade pour l'anniversaire de la Reine en 1994. Cet appareil et les Chipmunk WG466 et WG486 du RAF Gatow Station Flight ouvrirent la parade aérienne donnée à l'occasion de la dissolution des garnisons alliées de Berlin. © DR.

Chipmunk WG478 (red and white) was sent to Gatow for the Queen's Birthday Parade in 1994. Shortly afterwards, this aircraft and Chipmunk WG466 and WG486 of the RAF Gatow Station Flight, led the flypast for the Disbandment Parade of the Allied garrisons in Berlin. © DR.


Notes

(1) BRIXMIS ceased operations on 2 October 1990 and was disbanded on 31 December 1990.

Known Chipmunk T10 of the RAF Gatow Station Flight that were used by BRIXMIS:
WG303 and WK587 > 1956-1966 *** WP850 and WP971 > 1966-1974 *** WZ862 and WD289 > 1974-late 1980s *** WG466 and WG486 > Late 1980s-1990.


 Safety of Flight not Garanteed  < Part 1   < Part 2   < Part 3

previous Plan du site - Sitemap next

THIS PAGE IN ENGLISH HERE

Sperenberg 1V16 Un samedi après-midi particulièrement brumeux, nous avions réussi à devenir "peu sûr de notre position" et nous avions volé aussi loin que l'aérodrome de Sperenberg, que nous avions identifié au grand nombre d'avions de transport présents. Ayant réalisé notre erreur, nous avons aussitôt viré au nord pour rejoindre la BCZ. Etonamment, il n'y eu pas de réaction parce que les Soviétiques ne nous avaient pas remarqués ou avaient décidé de nous ignorer. Malgré tout, les pilotes se perdaient rarement en dépit de leur importante charge de travail, devant satisfaire les caprices des photographes et tenir l'avion en virage serré de manière précise afin d'obtenir les meilleures photographies. J'ai cependant entendu des murmures provenant du siège arrière, quand je demandais de tenir un virage à 60 degrés d'inclinaison pour réaliser un meilleur gros-plan. Malgré nos incursions occasionnelles dans l'espace aérien de l'Allemagne de l'Est, les seules plaintes concernant les Chipmunk continuèrent de se concentrer sur Schönefeld avec de prétendues violations des circuits d'arrivée et de départ, même si nous pouvions prouver que nous étions restés loin de cet aérodrome. Je suspecte qu'il s'agissait d'une manière de nous avertir que nous étions surveillés et d'ailleurs, plus les installations survolées étaient importantes, plus il y avait de protestations. Il est heureux que personne ne se soit aperçu de nos incursions vers Kagel. La procédure normale voulait que nous volions ensuite vers le nord-ouest et le terrain d'hélicoptères de Rangsdorf qui abritait un grand centre de maintenance. Parfois, l'activité y était intense lorsque les hélicoptères étaient testés en vol. En une occasion, sans doute parce que les pilotes s'ennuyaient, deux hélicoptères d'attaque ont essayé de forcer un Chipmunk à atterrir. L'appareil avait pu s'échapper en s'inclinant à 90° sur la tranche pour passer entre les deux "Hind" en rapprochement. Heureusement, ce genre d'incident était rare et notre principale préoccupation portait sur le bon fonctionnement de notre moteur.

SA-4 Train Sur le chemin du retour, il y avait au sud de Potsdam le grand champ de manoeuvre de Glau qui était dominé par un site permanent de SA-4 avec son radar de poursuite "Pat Hand" au sommet d'une colline. On y trouvait toujours beaucoup d'équipements du génie en exercice, tels que bulldozers, poseurs de canalisations, ou encore du matériel plus exotique pour nettoyer les champs de mines comme les chars équipés du dispositif ad hoc et même la version soviétique de la "torpille de Bangalore" qui projetait 100 mètres de matériel explosif afin de dégager un chemin à travers un champ de mines. Avant de retourner à Gatow, nous survolions habituellement les casernements du génie à Werder où les Soviétiques semblaient se débarasser de tous leurs équipements dépassés ou irréparables. Dans la même zone, à l'ouest de Gatow, les Allemands de l'Est s'entraînaient durant certaines périodes sur le Berliner Ring en vue de leurs deux parades militaires annuelles à Berlin Est, avant le premier mai et avant l'anniversaire de la fondation de l'Etat est-allemand en octobre [le 7 octobre 1949]. Nous pouvions y voir inévitablement tout le matériel qui était destiné à parader et, même parfois, des équipements qu'ils avaient décidé à la dernière minute de ne pas faire défiler. Finalement, en nous rapprochant de Gatow, nous allions jeter un coup d'oeuil au terrain d'entraînement voisin de Döberitz où les chars pratiquaient le tir réel. Les Soviétiques étaient censés utiliser des obus à faible charge explosive, mais à en juger par le bruit et la quantité de terre déplacée par les explosions, je doute qu'ils s'en soient tenus aux accords. Il était toujours intéressant de noter, durant l'approche vers la piste 09, qu'il y avait également un grand nombre de maquettes représentant des équipements de l'OTAN qui étaient manifestement utilisés pour apprendre aux nouvelles recrues à les reconnaître. L'approche finale de la piste 09 nous amenait aussi tout près d'un casernement des Gardes Frontières est-allemands et de leur terrain de manoeuvre. Il y eut quelques incidents avec eux, comme quand ils tirèrent sur ce C-130 qui avait atterri à Gatow avec une fuite de carburant causée par une balle de Kalachnikov. Une fois posés, nous suivions la même procédure que lors de notre départ, roulant jusqu'au hangar avant de débarquer avec nos appareils photo et les films à l'intérieur de ce dernier. Ces vols se déroulèrent deux ou trois jours par semaine pendant toute la période de mon affectation à BRIXMIS.

2S5 2S6 En dépit de tout et dans le cadre du renseignement en général, il faut souligner que cette opération qui dura près de 35 ans se déroula sans incidents vraiment sérieux. Il y eu bien de quasi catastrophes, mais nous nous en sommes sortis, la chance souriant aux audacieux. L'opération était si délicate que les vols devaient obtenir l'approbation du Bureau du Cabinet. D'ailleurs, à chaque changement de gouvernement, les vols étaient suspendus de peur que se produise un incident. Il est certain que ces derniers ont permis la collecte de nombreux renseignements de grande valeur qui n'auraient pas pu être rassemblés d'une autre manière. Je suspecte que la hiérarchie soviétique, bien que n'étant pas de conivence, a fermé les yeux sur nos activités. La raison pour laquelle j'affirme cela repose sur le fait que beaucoup d'officiers en poste au Haut Commandement soviétique avaient vécus la Grande Guerre Patriotique et ne voulaient pas renouveler l'expérience dans tout autre conflit. Le seul moyen à leur disposition afin de dissuader l'Ouest de se lancer dans des frappes préventives contre le Pacte de Varsovie, était d'exposer leur matériel. Ils espéraient ainsi que les politiciens occidentaux téméraires qui misaient sur une victoire rapide contre le Pacte de Varsovie, comprendraient face à ces informations indiscutables, qu'une telle aventure tournerait au désastre. Abattre un avion aurait été enfantin, pour ensuite faire grand cas à propos de cet "incident" tragique. Il est clair qu'ils savaient exactement en quoi consistaient les vols, car la SRE mentionnait souvent de manière indirecte qui avait participé aux missions et où ils avaient été vus avec le Chipmunk au-dessus d'installations à l'intérieur de la BCZ, voire prétendument à l'extérieur.

Chipmunk Chipmunk Le Gouvernement britannique a permis à cette opération de continuer pendant de nombreuses années, à l'insu du public britannique alors qu'il savait que tout incident sérieux aurait pu entraîner des dommages sur le plan politique aussi bien en interne qu'internationalement. Il semble cependant que l'ensemble de l'opération convenait aux deux parties pour des raisons diamétralement opposées. Les Chipmunk exécutèrent ces missions de renseignement sans encombre jusqu'en 1990 quand BRIXMIS fut finalement dissous (1), mais les avions restèrent à RAF Gatow à des fins d'entraînement jusqu'à ce que la base ferme ses portes le 30 juin 1994. Ce n'était néanmoins pas encore la fin de l'histoire pour les Chipmunk de Berlin. Des objets destinés à un nouveau musée qui commémorerait la présence des Forces alliées à Berlin-Ouest pendant presque 50 ans étaient rassemblés par les autorités allemandes. Une demande fut reçue pour que l'un des avions soit inclus dans l'exposition et, qui mieux que Mike Neil, l'ancien QFI de Gatow avec qui j'avais volé en maintes occasions et qui avait bouclé deux tours d'opération dans ce rôle, pouvait assurer le convoyage de l'appareil. Pour le dernier voyage, il décolla de RAF Laarbruch à destination de Tempelhof pour ce qui devait être un vol sans histoire, mais il fut presque immédiatement rappelé pour être averti qu'il serait accueilli par la presse internationale qui venait juste d'être informée sur le rôle réel des Chipmunk à Berlin depuis 1956. De plus, non seulement le Chipmunk convoyé était l'un des avions "espion", mais le pilote était aussi l'un des pilotes "espion".

© Roy Marsden

Roy Marsden témoigne dans la vidéo suivante à partir de 10' > Lien
.


Chipmunk Le Chipmunk WG478 (rouge et blanc) fut envoyé à Gatow afin d'agrémenter le Parade pour l'anniversaire de la Reine en 1994. Cet appareil et les Chipmunk WG466 et WG486 du RAF Gatow Station Flight ouvrirent la parade aérienne donnée à l'occasion de la dissolution des garnisons alliées de Berlin. © DR.

Chipmunk WG478 (red and white) was sent to Gatow for the Queen's Birthday Parade in 1994. Shortly afterwards, this aircraft and Chipmunk WG466 and WG486 of the RAF Gatow Station Flight, led the flypast for the Disbandment Parade of the Allied garrisons in Berlin. © DR.


notes

(1) BRIXMIS a cessé ses opérations le 2 octobre 1990 et à été dissous le 31 décembre 1990.

Chipmunk T10 du RAF Gatow Station Flight utilisés par BRIXMIS:
WG303 et WK587 > 1956-1966 *** WP850 et WP971 > 1966-1974 *** WZ862 et WD289 > 1974-fin années 80 *** WG466 et WG486 > Fin années 80-1990.


 Sécurité des vols non garantie  < Part 1   < Part 2   < Part 3

previous Plan du site - Sitemap next