C/N MiG-25RB

Here is an exceptional document that details the aircraft on strength with the first squadron of the 931.OGRAP. The complete document also included the strength of the second squadron (Yak-28PP) and the third squadron (MiG-25BM). This list was thus drawn up between June 1986 (when the Yak-28PP were transferred from Welzow to Werneuchen) and not before the end of that year, when the last MiG-25BM were taken on charge by the 931.OGRAP.
The first column indicated the individual tactical code number (bort nomer) for each aircraft.
The second column indicated the serial number.
The third column probably indicated the date when the aircraft was taken on charge by the VVS or when it left the factory.
The fourth column indicated the specific equipment carried by the aircraft or even the features of specific equipment.

- N01 (number erased) (PHOTO), 02 (PHOTO) and 03 (PHOTO) were MiG-25RU two-seaters. The serial numbers started with the Article number (39 for the RU variant). The letter "U" (Y) (U for "Uchebnyy" - training)
  in the fourth column specified that the aircraft were two-seat trainers.
- N50, 51 and 52 were MiG-25RB equipped with a "Sablya" suite - i.e. MiG-25RBS - hence the letter "S" (C) in the fourth column. The serial numbers started with 02, i.e. the Article number of every RB variants.
  There was additional information for aircraft n50 and 51: "P-2" (П-2) indicated that they had been upgraded to the "Peleng-2" navigation complex, the most efficient variant of this system.
- N53, 54, 55, 56 and 57 were MiG-25RB equipped with a "Virazh" suite - i.e. MiG-25RBV. The equipment on n54 was identified with the letters "VF" (BФ): "V" stands for "Virazh," of course; however, why "F"? One
  would imagine that the letter "F" meant "Foto." However, all the RBV models carried cameras. The most plausible explanation is as follows: the aircraft generally were equipped with four A-70M and one
  A/Ye-10 camera. N54 probably was equipped with a more selective camera suite comprising of two A-82 and one A/Ye-10 (see the main text of this article), hence the necessity for a supplementary identifying letter.
- N58 (PHOTO), 59 and 60 were MiG-25RB equipped with a "Kub-3M" suite as indicated by the letter "K" (K) - i.e., MiG-25RBK. "P-2" (П-2) indicated that they had been reequiped with the "Peleng-2" navigation
  complex.
- N61 was a MiG-25RB equipped with a "Tangazh" suite as indicated by the letter "T" (T) - i.e. a MiG-25RBT. The letters "FN" (ФН) probably indicated that this aircraft was equipped with two NA-75
  cameras for night reconnaissance. PHOTO.
- N62 was a MiG-25RB equipped with a "Shar-25" suite - i.e. a MiG-25RBF. It would have been easy and logical to conclude that this aircraft was rather a MiG-25RBSh equipped with a "Shompol" suite as indicated by
  the "Sh" (Ш) in the fourth column. However, a MiG-25RBF bort number 62 was photographed at Werneuchen and Welzow during the early nineties and, according to some aircraft spotter lists, it had the serial number
  02029105 like that of the aircraft on this list. Consequently, it was a MiG-25RBF as evidenced by the pictures (PHOTO).

Some remarks:
> According to Russian aviation expert Sergey Burdin, aircraft with serial numbers 02012179 and s/n 02014125 through 02017125 were produced with a night photo reconnaissance suite.
> The s/n 02020305 of n61 that was supposed to be equipped with a night photo reconnaissance suite did not match the above-mentioned list.
> On the other hand, n53, 55, 56 and 57 for which there was no particular mention except for their ELINT reconnaissance suite, had serial numbers that match the night photo reconnaissance serial numbers.
   However, they were not necessarily equipped with such a suite. N55 had an atypical nose apparently with only two camera portholes. (PHOTO). That was a characteristic of an aircraft equipped with a night photo
   reconnaissance suite.
> Thanks to its serial number, n54 would have been identified in the Werneuchen dump in August 1993. It also was put on display without its engines during an open house at Werneuchen on May 1, 1991.
   The n54 that was photographed (PHOTO) at Welzow in 1991/92 probably was a replacement aircraft.
> There are documents proving that MiG-25RBV n53, 56 and 57 were upgraded as MiG-25RBT variants.
> N58, 59 and 60 equipped with a Kub-3M suite were later upgraded to a Shar-25 suite: PHOTO n58 / n59 / n60.
> Finally, one should note that pilots and ground personnel did not refer to these aircraft as a MiG-25RBV, RBT etc. Instead, the aircraft were identified by data sheets that listed the equipment mounted in the aircraft.
   As an exemple, n52 was not known to be a MiG-25RBS, but rather a Sablya MiG-25 - implying a reconnaissance and bombardment variant fitted with a Sablya suite. This provides a measure of precision to this
   serial number list.

C/N MiG-25RB

Voici un document exceptionnel qui détaille les effectifs du premier escadron du 931.OGRAP. Le document complet reprenait également les effectifs du second escadron (Yak-28PP) et du troisième escadron (MiG-25BM). Cette liste fut donc dressée après juin 1986, lorsque les Yak-28PP ont été transférés depuis Welzow à Werneuchen et pas avant la fin de l'année, quand les derniers MiG-25BM arrivèrent au 931.OGRAP.
La première colonne indiquait le numéro de code tactique individuel (bort nomer) de chaque avion.
La seconde colonne indiquait le numéro de construction.
La troisième colonne indiquait vraisemblablement la date de prise en compte de la machine par les VVS ou de sa sortie d'usine.
La quatrième colonne indiquait les équipements spécifiques de l'avion, voire les particularités de ces équipements spécifiques.

- Les n° 01 (numéro effacé) (PHOTO), 02 (PHOTO) et 03 (PHOTO) étaient des MiG-25RU biplaces. Les numéros constructeur commençaient par le numéro d'Article, soit 39 pour la version RU. La lettre "U" (Y) (ou
  plutôt le son "Ou" pour "Ouchebniy," entraînement) en quatrième colonne précisait que les avions étaient des biplaces d'entraînement.
- Les n° 50 (PHOTO), 51 (PHOTO) et 52 (PHOTO) étaient des MiG-25RB équipés de la suite "Sablya" - soit des MiG-25RBS - d'où la lettre "S" (C) en quatrième colonne. Les numéros constructeur commençaient par 02, soit le numéro d'Article de
  toutes les variantes RB. Il y avait une information supplémentaire concernant les avions n°50 et 51 : "P-2" (П-2) indiquait qu'ils avaient été rééquipés avec un complexe de navigation "Peleng-2", soit la version la plus
  aboutie de ce système.
- Les n° 53 (PHOTO), 54 (PHOTO), 55 (PHOTO), 56 et 57 (PHOTO)étaient des MiG-25RB équipés de la suite "Viraj" - soit des MiG-25RBV. On notera que les équipements du n°54 étaient identifiés par les lettres "VF" (BФ) : "V" pour "Viraj" bien entendu,
  mais pourquoi "F" ? On pourraît imaginer que la lettre "F" signifiait "Foto." Cependant, tous les modèles RBV emportaient des appareils photo. L'explication la plus plausible est la suivante : les avions équipés photo
  emportaient généralement quatre boîtiers A-70M et un boîtier A/Ye-10. Le n°54 était quant à lui sans doute équipé de la suite de reconnaissance de précision composée de deux appareils A-82 et d'un boîtier A/Ye-10
  (voir le texte principal de cet article), d'où la nécessité d'une lettre d'identification supplémentaire.
- Les n°58 (PHOTO), 59 et 60 étaient des MiG-25RB équipés de la suite "Koub-3M" comme l'indiquait la lettre "K" (K) - soit des MiG-25RBK. "P-2" (П-2) indiquait qu'ils avaient été rééquipés avec le complexe
  de navigation "Peleng-2."
- Le n°61 était un MiG-25RB équipé de la suite "Tangaj" comme l'indiquait la lettre "T" (T) - soit un MiG-25RBT. Restaient les lettres "FN" (ФН) qui indiquaient sans doute que cet appareil était équipé de deux appareils
  NA-75 destinés à la reconnaissance nocturne (PHOTO).
- Le n°62 était un MiG-25RB équipé de la suite "Char-25" - soit un MiG-25RBF. Il aurait été aisé et logique de conclure que cet avion était plutôt un MiG-25RBCh équipé de la suite "Chompol" comme l'indiquaient les
  lettres "Ch" (Ш) en quatrième colonne. Toutefois un MiG-25RBF codé 62 a été photographié à Werneuchen et Welzow au début des années quatre-vingt-dix et selon les relevés de certains spotters, il portait le
  numéro constructeur 02029105 comme celui repris sur cette liste. Il s'agissait donc bien d'un MiG-25RBF comme l'attestent les photos (PHOTO).

Quelques remarques :
> Selon le spécialiste russe Sergey Bourdine, les avions avec les numéros constructeur 02012179 et 02014125 à 02017125 sont sortis d'usine avec une suite destinée à la reconnaissance nocturne.
> On notera que le n°61 supposé équipé de cette suite n'avait pas un numéro constructeur correspondent (02020305).
> Les n°53, 55, 56 et 57 pour lesquels ne figuraient pas de mentions particulières autres que celle indiquant la variante de leur suite ELINT avaient un numéro constructeur correspondent à une variante de
   reconnaissance nocturne - ce qui n'était pas forcément le cas dans les faits. Le n°55 avait un nez non standard réduit à vraisemblablement deux hublots (PHOTO), ce qui correspondait bien à un équipement photo
   nocturne.
> Le n°54 aurait été identifié grâce à son numéro constructeur dans le parc à ferraille de Werneuchen en août 1993. Il fut également exposé sans moteurs lors d'une journée portes ouvertes à Werneuchen le premier
   mai 1991. Le n°54 photographié (PHOTO) à Welzow en 1991/92 était sans doute une machine de remplacement.
> Il existe un document qui prouve que les MiG-25RBV n°53, 56 et 57 ont été convertis en MiG-25RBT.
> Les n°58, 59 et 60 ont plus tard vu leur suite Koub-3M remplacée par la suite Char-25 : PHOTO n°58 / n°59 / n°60.
> Finalement, on notera que pour le personnel concerné, ces avions n'étaient pas des MiG-25RBV, RBT etc. Les avions étaient identifiés en fonction de leur fiche signalétique qui mentionnait les équipements
   embarqués. A titre d'exemple le n°52 n'était pas connu pour être un MiG-25RBS, mais bien pour être un MiG-25 - de reconnaissance et de bombardement s'entend - équipé d'une suite Sablya. Cette précision éclaire
   de manière différente le tableau ci-dessus.